We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At his Flagship Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flagship - CLOSED

The Flagship
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $63
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chef Bruce left us a great legacy in both his food and his unique venture, The Flagship. This beautiful home that he created, on the shores of False Bay, will continue to offer a superb chef's table with Duncan Doherty as a testament to all that he stood for. Introducing Duncan Doherty. Duncan hails from the gourmet capital of Franschoek. An acclaimed chef, he has a diverse portfolio that includes Haute Cabriere, Fancourt, The Lanzerac Hotel and the Graham Beck Wine Estate. Most recently his celebrated 6 course tasting menu paired with champagne, has been described as an explosion of tastes. This is a man who loves seafood, champions sustainable produce and guarantees culinary entertainment in his own inimitable style. Five course Chef's Table Seafood Lunch with wine pairings - a piece of culinary theatre! Your experience starts with a glass of bubbles to accompany the first of your 5 courses with wine tasters, finishing some 3 hours later with a sublime dessert. This is a 'Bucket list' occasion for people who love seafood, wine and engaging with others. From the moment you arrive there is an air of excitement and experimentation and the feeling that you've landed somewhere special!
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At his Flagship Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Best meal I've ever had. I didn't know we were eating here or what it was, but it was absolutely the best experience of our vacation. No other food will match up ever. The experience is once in a lifetime. Worth every penny. The most spectacular seafood creations I have every eaten. Even my two daughters (11 & 14) loved it! They are adventurous.

Amazing views and location. I am very lucky to have found this chef and will always return when I'm back in S. Africa!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    5
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great New Venue. Always Sublime Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Bruce Robertson is first and foremost a true Master in the kitchen. His five course seafood experience on a cold and very wet Saturday afternoon was quite sublime. He combines his twin roles of chef and host with ease and good humour and it was a delight to catch up with him again. We shared his dining room table with an interesting mix of well travelled good food lovers from across the globe and spent the night in one of his four well appointed suites.
Attention to detail cannot be faulted and if you want a unique four hour eating experience in beautiful surroundings with great sea views, go to The Flagship with Chef Bruce. Book early and be prepared for adventurous eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New home, same, wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We've enjoyed Bruce's food for 10 years, from Cape Grace, to The Showroom, to the Boathouse, and now, The Flagship. Barefoot hospitality, great service, the personal enthusiasm that Bruce has for his provenance, (locovore) and the sublime dishes, beautifully crafted and presented.
If you are in Cape Town, have 4 hours for lunch, a lot more fun than a round of golf, do yourself a favour, enjoy a great drive down either coastline to Simon's Town and immerse yourself in culinary heaven!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmpars7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarians welcome ! Warm setting AND amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our travel concierge recommended that we experience lunch by Chef Bruce at The Flagship. We were not sure what to expect because it was to happen at his home. All I can say is, amazing ! from the moment Chef Bruce welcomed us at the door to when he walked us to our driver - everything was exceptional. The décor was fresh with the most amazing view you could just spend hours curled up on the soft looking out. I took pictures of the bathroom décor because it was just so much fun.

The food - where to start... first off, my daughter who was with me is vegetarian. Chef Bruce's menu was seafood focused. We were assured that he'd be able to accommodate her - and he did. As I thoroughly enjoyed each seafood delicious course - my daughter had similar elements minus the seafood. She never felt awkward for not indulging in the fabulous seafood the rest of us enjoyed. After explaining the course to the group, Chef Bruce moved quietly to her side and explained what she was having.

I can't say enough about the experience and would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“So cool, really different and worth a lazy, long afternoon with Chef Bruce!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Found Chef Bruce on TA (where else), as a recommendation. We booked a few weeks in advance for our trip back in January 2014, when he was still at the Boat House in the old location. What a cool experience! My husband and 10 other guests were hanging out in his living room and terrace like personal guests of Bruce, sipping on some sparkling wine and observing all that goes on in the kitchen. The food was delicious (all local stuff - including the seaweed and some sort of funky little snails) and the service by Holy man and Charles very courteous and swift. Watching Chef Bruce work his kitchen was like watching an artist working a painting. The amount of time that went into each course and the detail of every dot of sauce, speck of color and piece of decoration was really mind-blowing.

All in all, a very memorable afternoon and we felt totally spoiled after. The new location looks really nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flagship also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing