We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-around Amazing!”

The Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lighthouse Café has a beautiful ambience; it is an inviting space, light & airy with a French Provençal and Coastal feel which makes one feel right at home.Together Brett and Heleen as owners, chef and hosts have truly created a “home from home” experience for their customers.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident, on our drive down the coast. We were lucky enough to get a table, and from start to finish enjoyed the meal. Very nice ambience and atmosphere, amazing mussels and sandwich, with great coffee and desert. The service was outstanding. Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaceTo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I remember you well, you just got off the plane from the US and it was the first day of your honeymoon in Africa - I am sooo happy that we were able to give you a good "fresh mussel" start to the rest of your trip which I hope exceeded all expectations! Heleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for The Lighthouse Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 485 of 606 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really good food. Awesome Mussels in creamy white wine sauce!! Good service, pity the wine selection was very limited. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johan Uli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we love to know the good and also the not so good - we will be working on that wine selection for the season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

In a relatively short time the Lighthouse has developed a reputation as one of (actually the best) restaurants in Simonstown. The owners and staff affable and interactive, the food pretty good and the ambiance inviting. All this comes at a reasonable price - leaving one with a glow of satisfaction. A cautionary note though: you need to book to avoid dissapointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dharmabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Based on other reviews on this website we reserved a table for 8 for lunch during our steam train trip to Simonstown. Our PREVIOUS eating experience in Simonstown at another eatery was mediocre, to say the least, with appalling service resulting in us almost missing our return steam train journey. What a pleasant contrast this experience was - despite having to cope with our table of 8, another group of 11 as well all other tables filled, the service was impeccable, the food superb and the bill exceedingly reasonable - not many eateries can produce fish that is ACTUALLY fresh. Hence we could relax, enjoy our meal and return to our train in good time. In addition, our Thermos flask was kindly filled with boiling water in order that we could enjoy a cuppa on the train back. We have already booked for lunch on our next steam train trip in October which says it all. But, be warned, the word about this establishment has obviously spread and tables are limited so a prior reservation is essential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlesvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

It was such a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for the good and positive words - looking forward to see you again in October - we will have our new summer menu then! Heleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stumbled in there on a cold night, having walked back from the station. We were warmly welcomed, offered very good food by pleasant staff, and all reasonably priced. This was the best place i ate in Simons Town

Thank Johnhebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing