We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - make a reservation !”

The Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lighthouse Café has a beautiful ambience; it is an inviting space, light & airy with a French Provençal and Coastal feel which makes one feel right at home.Together Brett and Heleen as owners, chef and hosts have truly created a “home from home” experience for their customers.
Darling, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent - make a reservation !”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Based on other reviews on this website we reserved a table for 8 for lunch during our steam train trip to Simonstown. Our PREVIOUS eating experience in Simonstown at another eatery was mediocre, to say the least, with appalling service resulting in us almost missing our return steam train journey. What a pleasant contrast this experience was - despite having to cope with our table of 8, another group of 11 as well all other tables filled, the service was impeccable, the food superb and the bill exceedingly reasonable - not many eateries can produce fish that is ACTUALLY fresh. Hence we could relax, enjoy our meal and return to our train in good time. In addition, our Thermos flask was kindly filled with boiling water in order that we could enjoy a cuppa on the train back. We have already booked for lunch on our next steam train trip in October which says it all. But, be warned, the word about this establishment has obviously spread and tables are limited so a prior reservation is essential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlesvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for the good and positive words - looking forward to see you again in October - we will have our new summer menu then! Heleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    172
    32
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stumbled in there on a cold night, having walked back from the station. We were warmly welcomed, offered very good food by pleasant staff, and all reasonably priced. This was the best place i ate in Simons Town

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnhebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

On a recent trip to Simon's Town, we jumped on TripAdvisor to find a place to eat and noticed The Lighthouse Cafe was ranked #1. We called to see if we could make a reservation for the evening but they were completely booked! I chatted with the owner, Heleen for a few moments and congratulated her on being booked solid ... we'd been able to walk in pretty the other restaurants in the area and get a seat with no reservation ... and told her they must be doing something right to be booked. I guess she sensed the disappointment in my voice because right before we hung up, she said if we could get there quickly and eat within about an hour, she'd squeeze us in! So thankful she did....it was just what we needed after a day of diving. The cafe was warm, friendly, charming, cozy and inviting. You could dress up or dress down and be comfortable. It had a bit of a beachy theme which I loved. The service was excellent and Heleen was a gracious hostess. She helped with the wine selection which was great and my potato and salmon frittata was delish and unique! Hubby just had calamari and chips. The dessert was my favorite though....a sticky chocolate pudding which was similar to what we'd call "lava cake" in the US. My husband had a huge slice of chocolate cake with strawberries and a mousse filling. It was moist and flavorful. We are living in the Cape Town area for the next 6 years or so and will definitely be back next time we're in Simon's Town. We'll just make sure we make reservations first!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Oh Arizona produce really nice people! We loved having you and always nice to hear visitors' perspective on our country and even better to know you loved our little cafe... I remember you well and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Right decision”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After volunteering in Cape Town's townships for 4 weeks, my husband and I were deciding how to spend our last day. We ended up opting for taking the train to Simon's Town, which by the way, is Cape Town's best bargain. We walked along the beach and had a lovely meal at the Lighthouse Cafe. I had the rump steak and my husband had the lamb chops and both were cooked to perfection. The service was attentive and sincere and the restaurant had a very welcoming atmosphere. Next time we are in South Africa, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Guys, thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor - it is so great that you had a good time with us, especially after what would have been the end of quite a challenging 4 weeks in the townships. You are so welcome and hope to see you again! Heleen & Brett, owners of The Lighthouse Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place! Best pizza!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Taken here by friends and so glad we went. Quaint so not too loud, lovely decor and setting, great service and staff....and of course great food! If in town or just passing through you should definitely go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the thumbs up on the Pizza! Lovely having you guys and glad that you had a good time in our lovely Cafe. Regards, Heleen & Brett, owners of The Lighthouse Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing