We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Terra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Terra
Ranked #13 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The view was amazing as the lodge was located up on the side of the mountain overlooking the ocean. Everything was very clean, and perfect for our stay. we were happy to have the a/c unit in the room as it got a little muggy at night. We also enjoyed viewing the stars from the balcony. The location is just outside of Simon's Town, but as long as you have a car it's just about 5 minutes away. The owner was super nice as well. the wifi was a little spotty in the room, but it was better in the common areas. Overall, we loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the room next to the pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gumchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
138
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful contemporary house and very comfortable. We stayed in the executive suite with glass from floor to ceiling on 2 of the walls, so the views out to sea were stunning.

Not much to dislike really although breakfasts were fairly basic compared to all the other places we stayed and it would have been nice to have had a fridge in the room, plus a dvd player to listen to our cds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My girl and me stayed there unfortunately only for a single night. The quality of the house itself is remarkable and everything is in top conditions. Someone said that the place is "sterile" which is partly true since the owner lives abroad and his mother life's there by herself with the staff and max. 3 guests. It seems to be a matter of taste and I loved it. I hope that I will come back one day to day hello to the lovely Lady that runs the place.
All the best wishes from Summer and Elmar

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elmolebowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beautiful views, lovely quiet location. Close to boulder bay, but a bit out the way from SImonsTown centre if you dont have a car. Bathroom not en suite- which is a bit weird walking to your room in your towel. Otherwise comfy, stylish and affordable!

Room Tip: Sea Facing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

fresch, quiet place to stay for a romantic weekend or why not a week?! the infinity pool with acess from our room with the viuv to the ocean can not be any better :) hidden gym and squash but good. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I opted for a night at Aquaterra to celebrate my partner's 40th birthday. The venue itself is fantastic - the views from the room (and particularly from the bath!) are absolutely incredible. Ingrid was an excellent hostess and at my request was happy to organise a bottle of vintage MCC for the birthday itself. As other reviewers have mentioned, you do need to be prepared to drive to get anywhere, but it really is the perfect spot to explore the Cape peninsula. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rah_Rah_HockeySticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chapelle Montbrandeix, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The B&B is high up and difficult to reach with a car with a small engine. The view is great, but you cannot walk in the surroundings. It is beautifull, design but sterile. The pool is more for show than for use.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krijn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
8.5 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Terra

Property: Aqua Terra
Address: 15 Rocklands Road | Rocklands CLOSE (inside private estate - Ring 15 for entry), Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Terra is a boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on the mountain side overlooking False bay, with spectacular views towards the Kogelberg Mt. range. With only 3 bedrooms, we offer a private and quiet atmosphere and a optimal point to explore the southern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aqua Terra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Terra Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing