We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A view to die for!”
Review of Aqua Terra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Terra
Ranked #13 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A view to die for!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Of all the places I have stayed across the World (and there have been a lot!) I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere as special as this. It is a glass eyrie perched on the side of a mountain with THE most spectacular views over False Bay. The accommodation is sumptuous and you feel a million dollars staying here. We stayed in Sunrise (the suite) and, if I lived to be 100, I would never tire of the views from the floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was super-comfortable too ensuring an excellent night's sleep. We went sailing out of Simons Town, horse riding on Noordhoek beach and swimming with penguins at Boulders beach and rounded each day off with dinner at the excellent Boulders Beach Lodge restaurant, which is only about a mike away from Aqua Terra. A perfect start to our holiday and hard to live up to.

Jenny and Dirk are gracious and welcoming hosts and truly go out of their way to make your stay special. Bulla the dog and Tygi the cat will also welcome you (but only if you ask them too - they are very well behaved).

Aqua Terra is a great base for exploring the Cape Peninsula - don't make the mistake of only staying for one night! We stayed for three and I could happily have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want that added touch of luxury go for Sunrise - with it's private terrace next to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    28
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
11
145
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After having read the reviews I had great expectations and booked here the last two nights of our 4,5 weeks trip in SA. To be honest it was the most expensive guesthouse and the worst.
We had a room with a seperate bathroom (a beautiful bathroom with a very good view) but there are also two people working on that floor (the husband and the bookkeeper). You cannot walk naked from your room to th bathroom. If you pay 1980 ZAT for two nights it is not what you expect.
The hosts dis not drive us to a restaurant and the guesthouse is situated 5 km from the center.
There are no coffee and tea facilities, so you don't just sit there. Jenny told me they had plans but we did not have it. There is only sun in the early morning so even in summer you cannot sit on the terrace outside in the evening.
I personally loved the swimming pool, it is very cold and deep enough. For some people it would be difficult to enter it (or get out) as there are no stairs.
The house itself is beautiful but for us it felt more like a lovely painting. I write this review because I also read the other reviews and in the end it did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk001, Owner at Aqua Terra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
These guests did not complain to us during their stay re their room/bathroom etc, and therefore we where not given the opportunity to change them to a different room, despite having availability.
We are a Bed & Breakfast, not a Guesthouse, and we do not offer to drive guests to and from restaurants, especially when guests have their OWN car, as this couple did. We have made exceptions for some guests, with prior arrangements, and we do arrange for taxi's for guests.
Our location in Simon's Town is well publicized and a Google map provided, which is easily interpreted as to distances. The swimming pool is an outside pool, and temperate according to the seasons, and pleasant all summer long. Tea and coffee facilities are available and in rooms, plus a guest mini fridge on the patio stocked with refreshments.
Aqua Terra is east facing, the location of the sun is dictated by the movement of the earth, and the mountain which shadows most of Simon's Town late afternoons. We have sun on the patio until about 3pm in summer, when the sun dips behind the mountain, and lights up the distant Kogelberg range on the opposite side of the bay, making for a beautiful and relaxing setting for sun-downers - light blankets are provided for guests, as well as swimming towels on the patio - candles, and ambient lighting are provided for guests enjoying the evening on the terrace (patio).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night at Aqua Terra on a trip to the Cape of Good Hope and to see the Simons Town penguins. Our hosts were very friendly taking the time to chat to us and provide a good dinner recommendation (including very nicely driving us to dinner, so we could have some wine). The room was spectacular! Beautiful ocean views, a bathroom to die for. Breakfast was nice, served with the other guests in the dining room. A really great choice.

Room Tip: Main level room a must - didn't see any others, but this one leads right onto the lounge and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Me and my wife travelled through SA for 3 weeks and had an stay in Aqua Terra the last 2 nights before going back home. Save the best for last! It's an amazing house, rather more classy, the pictures are 100% correct, everything was very clean and the owners (Dirk and Jenny) are a warm and very nice couple. The hospitality was wonderful as well as the breakfast every morning.
The view on the ocean (from the pool as well as from our bed- and bathroom!) is one we will never forget and our stay there will remain one off the nicest we ever had. We actually consider going back there very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Excellent guesthouse (we were at Sunrise room) with astonishing views, spotlessly clean, great bathroom and perfect enviroment. It is even better than it looks in the pictures...! Being based in Aqua Terra is a great option to discover Cape Peninsula and Cape Town. I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javi_sin_apellidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Wonderful location and great staff. We will always miss the days we spent there. Superbe view and perfect staff. The breakfast was very good. The owners treated us like kings. Surely one of the better accomodations we had in all South Africa. We strongly reccomend Aqua Terra.

Room Tip: the rooms are perfect, but the suite is super!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloeSabrinaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Quite simply this was probably our best find of our two week trip. We were looking for somewhere outside of Cape Town near to Cape Point and found this. What an amazing place it is too. Staying here is like living a Film Star lifestyle.

The views from the house are breathtaking, truly stunning. On arriving we were welcomed with open arms to this friendly boutique guest house, the views across False Bay are amazing with floor to ceiling windows. Not to mention the infinity pool that overlooks the pool, a gym too, and very welcoming hosts.

I can't think of any negative, I would advise anyone looking for accommodation in the area to book this place. Not only do you have all that I've described but it's incredibly decently priced too to the point where we really wished we'd found the place earlier as we'd have stayed longer, as neither of us wanted to leave.

Imagine, waking up to the sound of the sea with the sun rising over the bay, walking out to a morning swim overlooking the Ocean before dressing for a beautiful continental breakfast - book into this place and you need imagine no longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Terra

Property: Aqua Terra
Address: 15 Rocklands Road | Rocklands CLOSE (inside private estate - Ring 15 for entry), Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Terra is a boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on the mountain side overlooking False bay, with spectacular views towards the Kogelberg Mt. range. With only 3 bedrooms, we offer a private and quiet atmosphere and a optimal point to explore the southern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aqua Terra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Terra Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing