We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view & great base for visiting the cape peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The place was great like having your own flat including lounge and great kitchen with a full floor to ceiling window for viewing the area whilst you are relaxing. The image with a fantastic view of the sea is exactly what it is like. It is a great base for visiting the whole of the cape. We did not use the pool or gym so are unable to comment,

Room Tip: Ground floor means you can easily open the door and walk out and easier for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnneMarieRichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear AnneMarie

Thank you for you wonderful review I hope that you will visit us again some day.

We are having a long summer and the views today are spectacular.

Kind Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is an excellent location. I had the economical room which was great for one person. I stayed 20 nights till my apartment became available . Great location for exploring the cape, very close to Simonstown with some really nice restaurants. Very close to penguins, whales in season and occasional baboons. I had to stop my car at night to let a porcupine cross the road on way home .The host was very charming and helpful. Great also if you are a biker with lots of little roads with great views but they tend to have interesting hills to get there!!! This could be a separate and interesting holiday if you are coming to Capetown. Lots of walking , biking ,canoeing. Good location for active holiday

Room Tip: The other rooms have a great view where you can sit out and watch sun go down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonofscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Martyn
Thank you for the wonderful review of Seagetaway Budget One Roomed Apartment it was a pleasure having you stay. I hope you have settled into your apartment and enjoy living in this beautiful area.

Kind Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

a very beautiful stay! We wished to spend a few more nights. The view is overwhelming, the owner very helpful and kind, the pinguins a real delight. Seagetaway is definitely a place to recommend! We wish all the best, thanks for the good support and to everybody who goes there: have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Elke

Thank you for taking the time to review Seagetaway Self Catering Cottage I hope that you will visit us for several nights next time :) Please visit our Facebook pages for reminders of the beautiful area.

Kind Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We got great help with driving instructions in advance of our arrival. Then we had a warm welcome by the owner who instantly arranged a reservation for dinner as it was already late.
The cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable. The big windows offer breath taking view on the ocean. Wifi was not expected but very welcome. We also got a lot of information on where to go and where to eat and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Uwe

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure having you stay. I am glad you and the family enjoyed Seagetaway Cottage and hope you will visit us again. Please visit our Facebook page to see our special offers and remind you of your visit.

Love Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Good location and value. But the best was the owner, he helped us to solve any deal with excursions, timetables, language traslations, and so on.
Next to this house are several places to walk and to enjoy the envioronment, even a lot of pinguins can be seen close to this building.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Encarna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Encarna

Thank you for your great review of Seagetaway Cottage it was a pleasure meeting you. I hope you will visit us again someday. Please visit our Facebook page for some memories of Seagetaway and Simon's Town.

Kind Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Seagetaway is comfortable, clean and well equipped. The owner is friendly and knowledgable about the area.
We will be back for sure, and would recommend the cottage to everyone.
The garden was pretty and the sea view great, especially as you can lie in bed and watch the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diversznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I really appreciate your great review and am glad you enjoyed your stay at Seagetaway Self Catering Cottage.
Please visit our Facebook page where we advertise specials and post pictures that will remind you of your stay.

Kind Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A very breath taking view of the ocean from the Seagataway cottage.The cottage is very clean and well equipped. I would definitely love to stay there again and i have already recommended the cottage to a few of my friend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simangaliso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavedeJager, Owner at Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your great review and for recommending Seagetaway Self Catering Cottage to your friends.
Please like our Facebook page to see what specials we are offering.
I hope you and your friends will visit us again sometime.
Kind Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
The House of Grace
#15 of 17 in Simon's Town
4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#2 of 32 in Simon's Town
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 32 in Simon's Town
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#3 of 32 in Simon's Town
375 reviews
3.7 mi away
15 on Penguin Guest House
15 on Penguin Guest House
#22 of 32 in Simon's Town
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation

Address: 57 Afrikander Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Simon's Town
Price Range: $68 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagetaway offers self catering accommodation for families, friends and couples in Simon's Town, Cape Town Peninsula, South Africa. Book your relaxing getaway by the sea at any of our four options - The Cottage, Superior, Budget and Seaside Apartments. Simon's Town is a picturesque beachside village overlooking False Bay just 45 minutes from the buzz of Cape Town and an hour from the Winelands. Seagetaway offers four fully equipped self catering units, all with panoramic sea and mountain views. All accommodation includes relaxed nautical furnishings, white percale linen, private entrances, off street parking and a welcoming host to ensure a great self-catering holiday. Seagetaway units are tiled throughout and all bathrooms have a shower. Free WiFi is included. Guests can prepare meals in the privacy of their unit. Alternatively, there are several restaurants and coffee shops to choose from in Simon's Town or a short drive away in Kalk Bay and Noordhoek. Activities in the area include the best-kept secret beaches, swimming with penguins, whale watching (June to November), white shark diving, sea kayaking, cycling, hiking and golf. Browse the eclectic mix of shops and explore the cobbled village lanes that reveal fascinating layers of history. Boulders Beach African Penguin colony is a 5-minute drive and the Cape Point section of Table Mountain National Park is 8 km from all Seagetaway properties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagetaway Self Catering Accommodation Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing