We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views and a very comfortable house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Rectory

View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
The Rectory, Simon's Town View from the upstairs bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
The Rectory, Simon's Town
View from the upstairs bedrooms
huge kitchen including sofa, french doors leading to outdoor area and sea view
Bathroom with mountain views
Reception rooms
Sunrise over the Hottentots Hollands mountains, in the sea, 6.30 am
Beautiful walk to the old reservoir that used to supply the town
Jumping off the rocks, Windmill Beach (not for sissies)
Part of the kitchen - the cook never has to be alone!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Simon's Town, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
843Alison
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views and a very comfortable house”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We arrived as the sun was setting and the moon rising to the most glorious views over the harbor. The house is very comfortable with a lovely airy feel, super kitchen and great sitting areas, inside and out. Very comfy beds and lovely bathrooms. It was a perfect base for exploring the Cape.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely house with fabulous views”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our third visit to this magnificently restored Herbert Baker house. The location is spectacular with a panoramic view over Simon’s Town’s Yacht Club, Naval Base, with False Bay and the Sir Lowry’s Pass in the distance. There’s even the distinctive Simonsberg Mountain to be seen towering behind Stellenbosch. For early morning risers the view over the great bay as the sun begins to make its appearance is unforgettable. For those with a naval bent, there are always the two submarines and various frigates to observe while young naval recruits are put through their swimming paces in the sea. At the weekend there were thirty or so yachts and dinghies participating in races just beyond the Naval Base.

This beautifully appointed and spacious house is north east facing, yes, NE even this far south, so you have the benefit of both the sea and the mountains as well as the sun. Five of the six bedrooms, as well as the two reception rooms and kitchen on the ground floor, all have a great view. The view is particularly good from the small sheltered balcony which leads off two of the bedrooms. We loved having breakfast and lunch just outside the kitchen on the veranda which runs the length of the north-east side of the house. Apart from the view, in the foreground there is a pretty and well-maintained garden with a small pond. Should you want to eat inside there is a lovely large table in the nice big kitchen which has been very tastefully arranged. It is such a pleasure to have a larger than average stove and one those big side by side fridge freezers as well as separate coolers for drinks. There is even a separate TV room with full DSTV, although we always seemed to be otherwise occupied. We loved walking down to see the penguins and continuing on to one of the sheltered beaches or burning up some calories going up the mountain behind the house to the 1st WW Cross and ‘Just Nuisance’s’ gravestone for the spectacular view from the top. We also enjoyed being able to jump on the train from Simon’s Town station to go to one of the many restaurants in Kalk Bay with the sea only a few meters away throughout the brief journey.

There is just this lovely feeling of space throughout the house with its high ceilings, which gives such an uncluttered impression. The ever-attentive and charming housekeeper, who lives on the property, looks after the house and garden with great pride and energy. Nothing is ever too much trouble for him. We were once again sad to leave this beautiful house which feels to us so like a home from home. -

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charl39
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental we've ever had”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything the owner Sarah says about her house The Rectory is absolutely true. This is a stunning home of manor-house proportions: six bedrooms, at least three bathrooms (but I'm sure there were more!) a kitchen so large you could fit a snooker table in it (there isn't one, but you could put one in there) and best of all, a friendly, capable and discreet housekeeper.

Two of the rooms open out onto a beautiful balcony, perfect for breakfast coffee or evening cocktails. The view is breathtaking: you can see all of the northern False Bay coastline stretching out in front of you, with the naval base (more like a marina, really) directly in front of you.

The house is so quiet at night it's absolute heaven. Even when the south-easter is blowing, the house feels (and is) so solid and safe. There are wooden floors and staircases throughout - but not a creak from any of them.

It's absolutely beautifully decorated and appointed. (It must have cost a fortune to do up to this standard, I'm sure). The kitchen is so clean it felt as though we were the first people to stay there, ever - seriously, the gas hob and electric oven (Smeg, of course) looked as though it had never been used before - we used it though! The bathrooms are fantastic: the main bathroom has a shower cubicle so big you could actually swing a cat in it without touching sides (not that I'm recommending that!). Everything is, in fact, incredibly light and spacious.

It is absolutely true to say that I've never rented a holiday house so beautiful, so comfortable, so perfect as The Rectory, in more than thirty years of going on holiday with my family.

I'd go back in a heartbeat. And I will.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location (and comfort, and cleanliness, and everything else)
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJJ65
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House with a view”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful house which felt more like your own luxurious home that came with the wonderful care of houseman Witness. We thoroughly enjoyed home to a clean and tidy house. Witness was wonderfully discreet and at the same time attentive.

We all enjoyed being able to walk down into Simonstown for a coffee, lunch or dinner. Boulders with its penguins is only a 5 min drive away and my husband and I enjoyed going running in the morning along the coast.

A fabulous base to explore and visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The glorious views that greeted us each day.
Liked least: The excellent exercise we received from walking up and down into Simonstown
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2013
I really hoped you ended your run with a refreshing swim in the sea, with the sun coming up. Awesome. It is like your very own scene from 'The Blue Planet'. This season we swam with penguins, cormorants flying overhead out to their fishing grounds, wild dolphins and the very rare Cape Otter. I love Simon's Town and feel very lucky to live there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our beautiful house and our Houseman. Witness is indeed a legend; he is Jeeves-like in the way he shimmies about unobtrusively whilst seeming to anticipate what you want, and getting your laundry back into your room at the end of the day.
I am proud to say The Rectory is actually significantly cheaper than similar luxury accommodation - the prices in Cape Town can be silly. We protect ourselves from wayward guests with a hefty deposit which is given back the instant Witness confirms all is in order. The cost can be as low as £40 pppn for the breakfast option, with bread and pastries freshly baked that morning, the highest quality Brazilian and Ethiopian coffee, fruit and conserves; luxury linen and furnishings, at less than half the price of a very ordinary English b&b, Mount Nelson living at a fraction of the price!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing