We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend getaway”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Simon's Town Quayside Hotel is a stunning hotel, boasting some of the most beautiful views of the harbor. You can reach all the interesting places in Simon's town by foot. There are also lovely restaurants for pizza or pasta.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank singachicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on your comment that you posted on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to the Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel and to hearing from you again!


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    124
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
178
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The view is breath taking, the room was super clean and very spacious, the staff could not do more to help and were extremely friendly yet not intrusive. They arranged pick up from the airport for me which was really good value for money and they were there waiting when I landed. What else can I say apart from really good value for money and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Juliandalehutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good day,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor after your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful room. Well equipped, extremely comfortable with wonderful view from the balcony. Friendly staff on reception and a delightful bright and tranquil breakfast room. Quayside Hotel is in a great spot right at the waters edge. Good section of restaurants within a few moments stroll. Good base for visiting the Penguins at Boulders. Easy to find and park. Excellent value. This hotel was a great find, we loved it.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I wish to assure you that I have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is far away from Cape Town but we liked staying there because we enjoyed very much trying different routes going around, that all of them where beautiful! Also because its a very quiet little place, near Cape Point and Boulders Beach. The room and bathroom were very nice, big and clean with a beautiful view to the seaport. What we didnt like was everything about the breakfast: the dining room is very small with bad cooking smell, the floors where dirty and sticky, the food wasnt neither abundantand nor varied; what made it worst, was that we paid extra for having breakfast there ! So better not doing so and have it on the restaurant down the hotel by the sea that has very good service, food and prices. About the staff: one man on the front desk wasn t very helpful but another lady ,was.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good day,

I refer to the Guest Comments that you kindly posted on TripAdvisor after your stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at our hotel is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery of breakfast certainly does not reflect the high standard that Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our Guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Quayside had very happy, friendly staff that were awesome with general info and helping us arrange full day adventures. Their advice was honest and helpful every time. Great location to all Simons Town has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side (Mountain view) can be loud, although people watching is fun. If looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank canadiandiver_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I found that the service was great, but the location of the venue and conference area - not suitable. Too noisy during conference and guest should be more considerate towards others especially at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment after your stay with us. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you our hospitality at its best!

Regards,

Gideon le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed in the Simon's Town Quayside hotel for just over a week this January and I was highly impressed. The rooms were of a high standard, complete with Air Conditioning, Fridge and a nice hot shower (a necessity after my previous 2 weeks of camping!). The view from the room was also pretty good (sea view) and made me wish I'd opted for a balcony!

All the staff were exceedingly friendly and went out of their way to help you. It was excellent to be welcomed so genuinely at breakfast each morning.

The break fast itself was superb - an enormous selection of hot and cold items - all of which tasted wonderful.

The only downside I can think of was the air conditioning unit. It make some unusual noises which got on my nerves a bit for the first night, but was fixed by the staff when I reported it.

Also note that Wifi is payable extra.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your words of appreciation in your comments after your recent stay at the Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel. I am delighted to receive your compliments and will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again!


Regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
0.5 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Jubilee Square, St George's Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simons Town Quayside Hotel
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel And Conference Centre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing