We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean rooms right at the docks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, clean rooms right at the docks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Being in the Quayside Hotel actually feels like being on a ship. The interior designer has absolutely chosen a theme and gone with it, all the way! The bathroom has a navy flag design decor, a lot of rope has been used throughout the hotel, and our room was out back - across a gangway-like passage. And oh! There were actual sailors walking around in the street outside of our room ;)

This hotel is definitely nice and clean, but it did actually lack a bit of soul. Can't put my finger on it… But it does not feel personal. The personnel at the reception were nice alright, but nothing special. We had to pay extra for breakfast even though we booked the bed-and-breakfast option. And the breakfast staff acted like they've never had a guest before - they just kept talking and talking and talking, when all we wanted to do was to eat breakfast. Don't get me wrong, talking to new people is my favorite thing to do - but not before my morning coffee.

Ah, enough with the complaints - this hotel is definitely ok. I really have no complaints (as I believe it was a real bargain). I can recommend it if all you are going to do there is sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to write down your additional comments after your recent stay at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding the breakfast staff talking too much & for paying for breakfast by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that we are usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our guests’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

I will refund the breakfast amount back into your account.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to back in the near future.

Best regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    121
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
168
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This little gem in the center of Simon's Town provides everything you could want. Altough the hotel only provides breakfast, which is superb, there are so many little places to eat within easy walking distance it matters not that they don't have a facility on site. Rooms are well appointed and the staff are fantastic. Only point to bear in mind is that room 309 is next to the breakfast kitchen, so if you want that lazy morning that room is prob not for you. As I was there on buisness it proved to be a good alarm call.

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 if you do not want early starts to the day as it has the kitchen next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a lovely time at this hotel. The rooms was always cleaned with fresh towels everyday! Breakfast was gorgeous and they made your eggs and bacon to how you like.
I really didnt want to leave this hotel and had the best time!!
The location was good, but to go into Cape Town centre you had to catch a train which was about 45 minutes to 1 hour long! But still worth staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect location for early morning shark excursion departures. Just 5 minutes from the dock. Very clean with nice linens and ocean/beach decor. Great views from the rooms facing the marina. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room facing the marina are quiet, sunny and offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerEstesPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one evening at Quayside and really enjoyed their hospitality and superior location. The hotel is situated directly on the water and is close to all the downtown shopping and eating in Simon's Town. If you happen to be Great White diving while there, the location is perfect because you are within steps of where you launch from. The room was very clean and everyone at the front desk was so friendly and accommodating. I would not stay anywhere else while visiting Simon's Town!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STQH-GM, General Manager at Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I wish to assure you that I have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Gideon Le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Quayside for a week in late June. We chose the Quayside based on its location to the pier as we were doing a week of shark cage diving and it was barely a two minute walk to the pier, so the location is fantastic if you're diving. Based on the photos from their website I was expecting a very nice hotel. The ceiling was cracked, the door to the mini bar was broken and the bathrooms needed some work. The front desk staff was good although twice they missed giving us messages and one message was to say our dive had been cancelled for the following day due to bad weather and we got up at 5:30 am for nothing.

The breakfast buffet was okay, if a tad pricey, with a good selection to choose from. The Bertha restaurant just below the hotel is very good and the prices are reasonable, as is the Seaforth restaurant by Boulders Beach. The Meeting Place across the street is also nice but the best value is the Salty Sea Dog, right by the pier. Excellent food and good service.

Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony because the views are fantastic. We would stay here again just based on the great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 years ago and loved it. Its always a risk going back but it was a risk worth taking. We loved it again! We stayed in a balcony room and loved every moment. It was great to see Pearl still here on the front desk she is always friendly and welcoming.
We will be back again the next time we are lucky enough to be in South Africa!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.2 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Jubilee Square, St George's Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simons Town Quayside Hotel
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel And Conference Centre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing