We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but the rooms need some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the rooms need some TLC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Quayside for a week in late June. We chose the Quayside based on its location to the pier as we were doing a week of shark cage diving and it was barely a two minute walk to the pier, so the location is fantastic if you're diving. Based on the photos from their website I was expecting a very nice hotel. The ceiling was cracked, the door to the mini bar was broken and the bathrooms needed some work. The front desk staff was good although twice they missed giving us messages and one message was to say our dive had been cancelled for the following day due to bad weather and we got up at 5:30 am for nothing.

The breakfast buffet was okay, if a tad pricey, with a good selection to choose from. The Bertha restaurant just below the hotel is very good and the prices are reasonable, as is the Seaforth restaurant by Boulders Beach. The Meeting Place across the street is also nice but the best value is the Salty Sea Dog, right by the pier. Excellent food and good service.

Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony because the views are fantastic. We would stay here again just based on the great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    124
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
177
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 years ago and loved it. Its always a risk going back but it was a risk worth taking. We loved it again! We stayed in a balcony room and loved every moment. It was great to see Pearl still here on the front desk she is always friendly and welcoming.
We will be back again the next time we are lucky enough to be in South Africa!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A few years ago, I stayed at Quayside for business. I remembered it as having a quiet charm and outstanding staff. I just had the pleasure of returning on vacation and I was not disappointed. The view of the marina, bay and mountains across the bay was breathtaking. I remembered it being a bit awkward to use the breakfast vouchers while there before and was pleasantly surprised to find that they now have their own breakfast buffet with a wonderful buffet spread as well as an omelette station. The nice extra touch to the rooms is that they have in-floor heaters so that your feet stay warm when getting up in the middle of the night. Unfortunately, it wasn't installed in the bathroom as well. The only complaint that my companion had was that the hair dryer wasn't up to her standards. I would definitely consider returning there on any occasion.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if possible. The views are phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I scheduled a small conference with colleagues at the hotel during the week but was so impressed with my room, the view, the staff’s attitude and behaviour that I phoned my husband inviting him to rather join me for the weekend instead of going back home. Our room and view from the bed overlooked the mountains, ocean and yacht club. The hotel is located very central and walking distance from restaurants and shops. Take the train from Simon’s Town to Kalk Bay (the current stop and go traffic with road works in the main road to Kalk Bay can be a bit of a nightmare!) for an alternative experience and enjoy travelling along scenic road!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and i have to admit - excellent. the rooms were clean, the breakfast was excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly. Travelling with kids is challanging but the hotel really assisted wherever they could!

Room Tip: take a harbour facing room - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We as a family of six ,some from Uk, some from Australia and, some from Durban, Natal Province started negotiation in May 2012 .From first contact we felt we had very helpful staff and in March 2013 we arrived .
We were very pleased with the whole Hotel. it had almost everything we could wish for. With mixed gender, our requirements were to have a 1st floor seaview room with large balcony all adjacent to each other! Four lovely large rooms all with huge beds and beautifully decorated inNautical style. Our excitement began! The yacht harbour was just there with our northerly aspect. Space was amazing and quietness was around us and on the Quay. Breakfast was well appointed in the small breakfast room in an adjacent building exclusively for the hotel. We toured around the wonderful countryside and visited Capetown . How happy we were to return to our Hotel each day and the smiling faces of the staff.
Management is often the let down in the Hospitality industry but not Quayside. Management of Tthe Group ."African Hotels and Adventures" ensured all staff from Manager down the line looked after any requirements required quietly and quickly. I would add that the Hotel Manager was often in the breakfast room or reception. Wi-Fi charging was the only disappointment as there was free Wi Fi in the same buiding at a resturant who offered it free!
Our party with 4 rooms had excellent critiques . We were so happy there for our 4 nights and loved the the important but small town of Simons Town.

Room Tip: Fror the best rooms ask for a Seaview room with large balcony facing the harbour all rooms numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel for 3 nights, and it was a very pleasant experience. Our room was very spacious, the bathroom was just the right size. The room was very clean and simple yet tastefully done. We stayed in a sea facing room and had a fantastic view of the harbour. I thought at first that since our room was near a restaurant below, it would be noisy, but it was not so. The bed was very comfortable; we always had a good night’s sleep.

I was very sick one morning and couldn’t get up to have my breakfast at the dining hall, but when the lady there (I was told her name was Denise) found out from my husband, she prepared a breakfast tray for me and delivered it to my room. Another morning, my husband left his small bag by the chair and the gentleman (if I remember correctly, his name is Lindsay) quickly brought the bag to our room. The staff were all nice.

The hotel location is perfect; it is very central. Across the street are shops and restaurants. It is very near Boulders beach, and the other attractions. We thought parking was very limited at first, with only 6 free parking spaces right by the front of the hotel, and a few more at the back, but we never really had any problems with parking. There’s a big parking area in front of the hotel, but it is only free from 6pm to 8am. Mornings and afternoons, it’s paid parking.

The only thing that my husband didn’t like was that they only had 9 TV channels. I suppose for a 4-star hotel, they should have more. Also, our beds were two single beds put together side by side, but they didn’t put anything on top of the mattress to make it feel like one bed. But as I said, the beds were very comfortable. We stayed in another hotel in Cape Town after and they also put two beds together but they put some cushion on top so it felt like we were on one big bed. We didn’t really bother to call their attention to it. We are not very fussy travellers. As long as we have a clean, comfy , quiet and secure room, we are happy. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Getting a sea facing room is definitely worth it; you wake up every morning to awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Jubilee Square, St George's Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simons Town Quayside Hotel
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel And Conference Centre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing