We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Simon's Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Simon's Town”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Simon’s Town Quayside Hotel for 3 nights, and it was a very pleasant experience. Our room was very spacious, the bathroom was just the right size. The room was very clean and simple yet tastefully done. We stayed in a sea facing room and had a fantastic view of the harbour. I thought at first that since our room was near a restaurant below, it would be noisy, but it was not so. The bed was very comfortable; we always had a good night’s sleep.

I was very sick one morning and couldn’t get up to have my breakfast at the dining hall, but when the lady there (I was told her name was Denise) found out from my husband, she prepared a breakfast tray for me and delivered it to my room. Another morning, my husband left his small bag by the chair and the gentleman (if I remember correctly, his name is Lindsay) quickly brought the bag to our room. The staff were all nice.

The hotel location is perfect; it is very central. Across the street are shops and restaurants. It is very near Boulders beach, and the other attractions. We thought parking was very limited at first, with only 6 free parking spaces right by the front of the hotel, and a few more at the back, but we never really had any problems with parking. There’s a big parking area in front of the hotel, but it is only free from 6pm to 8am. Mornings and afternoons, it’s paid parking.

The only thing that my husband didn’t like was that they only had 9 TV channels. I suppose for a 4-star hotel, they should have more. Also, our beds were two single beds put together side by side, but they didn’t put anything on top of the mattress to make it feel like one bed. But as I said, the beds were very comfortable. We stayed in another hotel in Cape Town after and they also put two beds together but they put some cushion on top so it felt like we were on one big bed. We didn’t really bother to call their attention to it. We are not very fussy travellers. As long as we have a clean, comfy , quiet and secure room, we are happy. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Getting a sea facing room is definitely worth it; you wake up every morning to awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    124
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
178
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glenmoore,
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were a group of 6 persons staying at the Quayside hotel. We were there to visit my grandaughter who is studying at UCT. The location was ideal with easy access to the train into Cape Town as well as Towns along the way. We had a beautiful ocean facing room with balcony. If booking be sure to ask for one of these rooms. the extra expense will be worth it.
For the most part, the staff is helpful and friendly, especially Pearl at the reception desk. She was always willing to make pickup arrangements for us. Shopping made easy with stores just accross the street, vendors with african made souveniers at the parking lot beside the Quayside Hotel. Connection to wi fi was not easy, this is one thing that they need to work on. All in all, I would recommend the location.

Room Tip: A first floor ocean view with a balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realestatemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had 2 nights here in October. Room 101 was spacious, bright, airy and very comfortable - with great views over the quayside.

Parking is first come first served in the hotel car park - however, if you are unlucky and do not get a spot, then there is a public car park adjacent, with a fee. We were lucky enough to get a hotel parking space during our stay.

Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of options in a wonderfully bright breakfast room.

There was a charge for WiFi - I believe it was R50 for 150MB - although other options were available.

The room had TV, tea & coffee facilities, mini-bar fridge, hairdryer, air con, as well as a trouser press!

Room Tip: Room 101 was on the reception level - a corner room with dual aspect windows for a large, bright roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived Christmas Day and we couldnt ask for anything more, the hotle,the location, the staff, it was all fantastic, they really looked after us, would go back there anytime,

You will have to see the views from the room to beleive them fantastic.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View with a Balcony fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouserLFC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and has breathtaking harbor views! We had a really nice, large, corner sea-facing room, but our kids' room next door had recently been renovated and had more electrical outlets, an updated bathroom, and more transitional design (modern blue tile vs. the nautical flag tiles). The Wi-Fi hassle was actually ridiculous, and that is my only criticism. Honestly, we had free Wi-Fi afterwards at another independent lodge in Zimbabwe and joked about the frustrating 30 minute daily voucher hoops we had to jump through at Simon's Town Quayside. Hopefully, this policy will change in 2013. The parking at this hotel is fantastically located right next to Jubilee Square, and across the street from all the main shops and restaurants. There are several great gift shops, restaurants, a post office, and an art gallery on the lower levels of the hotel. The rooms were comfortable, very clean, and quiet. We loved opening the french doors each morning to hear the sound of the water and birds to ease us into the day. This hotel (and town) provided a wonderful break from the hectic pace of Cape Town, and we would recommend a two or three night stay here as a base for exploring the coastline, seeing the penguins at Boulders Beach, or traveling down to Cape Point National Park. We would also like to recognize the very friendly breakfast room staff and front desk employee Jonathan for their excellent service.

Room Tip: Upper floor harbor view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for a business trip for about 1 week. On arrival until the day I left the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms both upstairs and downstairs look very nice and were very clean. The view over the bay is amazing and also from the breakfast room the view is the same.

The only thing that I found a bit disappointing is that you have to pay for WiFi, but this is the case is more hotels. They do however offer you different options in the amount of time and/or MBs you want.

Overall a very recommendable hotel!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a amazing view over the bay. But there are quite a lot of them, so defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanKooijman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel which is in the heart of Simon's Town Harbour. It has beautiful view of the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. Also very reasonably priced for where it is!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkydunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
985 reviews
Whale View Manor
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boulders Beach Lodge
#17 of 31 in Simon's Town
225 reviews
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
260 reviews
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Jubilee Square, St George's Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simons Town Quayside Hotel
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel And Conference Centre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing