We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking service”

Harbourview Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 37 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Shocking The restaurant offers a takeaway section yet the Manageress on duty cannot handle the stress of a busy restaurant. We ordered takeaways from a lovely waitress. After waiting 8 mins the manageress entered and started screaming at the waitress that they are no longer taking takeaway orders. I asked the manageress if we would still get our order as it was already taken and we have been waiting, she then proceeded to shout at me. Wow what awful service especially when your in the service industry. To embarrass your staff in front of customers is so degrading. When I told the manageress I would write a review she laughed. I willl never go to the Harbour Coffee Shop again and will certainly tell others to do the same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanya d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    15
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve overbooking spoiled the experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing to arrive at. 8.30 to find a full restaurant and a long queue of diners waiting for second sitting tables

We didn't get seated until an hour later and could see a huge table of over 20 arriving (almost all staff were focused on squishing tables and setting up the big table to the detriment of others

Our boys were so tired by the time the meal arrived they were past eating

It wasn't the Christmas Eve meal we had planned and we accept that these things happen during the busy festive period however the staff did not apologise or seem to recognise the impact on the kids

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodsFamilyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food - slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A great place to have a nice lunch or dinner if you have about an hour to spend. The food was great - i had a pasta dish and my husband a seafood dish - both were excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aamartin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst burger ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really bad burger with no tomato and hardly any cheese. Milkshakes made from cheap syrup and trying to do too many things with the menu. If you can't get a burger right there is just no point in trying to do much else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschen, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“just have a drink there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

What else should we have expected on the 25th December. food is just average, it's more a fish and chips place.

Helpful?
Thank 2nisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourview Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbourview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing