We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious! lovely little cafe with superbe pastries”
Review of The Sweetest Thing

The Sweetest Thing
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
valencia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious! lovely little cafe with superbe pastries”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

a wonderful little cafe, with excellent little cakes and pastries. my favourite place for breakfast in simon's town, point none. don't miss their delicious 'pear and frangipane' pastry with a good chococcino :) but any pastry at Sweetest Thing is seriously good.
there's plenty of locals at this cafe, and they have a small inner courtyard, close to the kitchen but away from the street, that is just perfect for relaxing and reading.
they have some good veggie pies too, for a takeaway lunch on the way to cape point, but i'd rather suggest you to have a fantastic brekkie here at Sweetest Thing and then stop for a butter tea and a good vegan dinner at another lovely place, Sophea's Tibetan Teahouse, on the other end of the main road, closer to Boulder beach and the golf club.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had some smoothies there while waiting to go on a tour, it was really nice so we returned later for lunch. I tried the Hamburger with sweet potato chips and my husband had the Chicken burger with a pesto sauce and a side salad. The food were delicious and made with fresh ingredients.
The portion sizes was just enough for a light lunch.
We ordered espresso's that was very good.
They have a lot of sweet temptations on the menu as well as home baked pies and quiche.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, so-so atmosphere”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We LOVE getting treats from The Sweetest Thing!
BUT we prefer to take away as not much effort has gone into creating a good atmosphere inside the cafe - Would be great to see them do something stylish and fun with the decor..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice pastries”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice morning stop for some sweet pastries. Nice selection of goodies and of course the children loved it because it was sweet. Coffee was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Henriferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try going in and coming out empty handed!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I don't recall this little gem the first time I was in Simonstown 2 years ago, but I'm glad they're here now. Someone had recommended trying the patisserie so we had to check it out. I had an amazing almond croissant: soft pastry, delicious marzipan creme and sprinkled with almonds. Shame I did not discover it earlier on in my trip, I would have been in there everyday (not good for the waist line)!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweetest Thing also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sweetest Thing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing