We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grosvenor Guest House
Ranked #7 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludwigshafen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very beautiful rooms, and nice interior, the great view across the sea and the harbor, very welcoming hosts. All summed up I had a great time there and John and Susan were very kind hosts. I did feel safe in the room I had there, and all the kitchen equipment supplied there is just amazing. It's like everything is there you ever need to cook dinner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grosvenor. We always enjoy feedback from our guests in order for us to keep our standards right up "there"! We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Regards from beautiful Simon's Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    40
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
86
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the Grosvenor as part of my package with Apex Shark Expeditions and I could not have enjoyed my stay more.

The house has amazing views of the town, its docks and the sublime False Bay and each member of staff made me feel so at home, helping me out in every way possible.

Facilities are very modern with an old fashioned twist of a local theme decor which all adds to the beauty and my room was very very spacious, spotlessly clean and kept.

Wi-Fi is available at a reasonable price and speed is good too and the large modern kitchen facilities are open for everyone to use no matter what basis you are staying on.

There are several supermarkets close by and it is only a 10min walk from the town and harbour. There are several great restaurants and food options are plentiful from Fish&Chips at the Salty Seadog on the pier, a takeaway kiosk, 2&6 bar for lively atmosphere and a train station within 20mins walk links to Cape Town and the False Bay coast at a very cheap price.

A must to visit is Boulders Beach and the Penguin Colony there. 15 mins walk gets you to one of the most spectacular beaches in the WORLD and the scenery is beautiful. It is made all the better by the penguins that live there and you can get very close to the little guys.

The only down side was the walk up the stairs to the hotel each day as it is a way from the road up a steep hill; but this certainly keeps you fit and the view from the balcony is worth the hill at any cost.

Highly recommended and I cannot wait to return. Thank you all

Room Tip: Front facing gives you a beautiful view of the harbour and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmcguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranquility37, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Rich
Thank you for your review and we love that you had a great time at the Grosvenor. Please post some of your stunning photographs on our face book page so we can share your experiences in Simon's Town with our greater Grosvenor family. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the "Deep South" soon.
Kind regards
Debbie, Sue, Jonathan and James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here while doing the "Great White Shark Trail" with Apex Predators Expeditions. I stayed in the B&B part although I didn't eat breakfast since we left very early. The kitchen was available for me to use and there was coffee and tea available in the room. My room was delightful - very spacious and clean with a lovely balcony. Bed was very comfortable. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grosvenor. Thank you for your positive review. Please post some of your stunning photographs on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experience in Simon's Town with our extended Grosvenor family.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan - Martini and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Grosvenor for 5 nights while with Apex Predators Expeditions, and we'll be back! It's 15 minutes' walk from the penguins at Boulder Beach, and from the downtown area and seaport.

Our house had 4 rooms to it, a common area (with the only TV), and a kitchen (very well equipped with everything you need to have lovely meals staying in, which came in handy since in August, it got dark around 6:30pm and not many restaurants are open late). Each bedroom had its own bathroom with tub, shower, and sink, and a private balcony that others could not view you from. The walls were thin, which made staying as a couple a bit awkward. However, the communal vibe added lots of value to the experience, as we were all there because of our passion for sharks, and I continued to learn about sharks outside of our Apex outings because of that. Plus, I just love meeting new friends and going on excursions together. Temperature wise, the rooms were cold at night and heaters didn't give much, so bring sweats to sleep in and ask for extra blankets.

The property is safeguarded with an electric fence. It's in a very quiet area, but my boyfriend and I walked to/from downtown as late as 9pm without safety concerns (just pick staircases with full visibility, not with bushes right next to them).

The staff was very helpful, with wonderful communication. They straightened our rooms daily, and washed/folded laundry for a mere 100 ZAR / load.

WiFi was incredibly slow and costs $. The English breakfast is served in their main house -- and while it was delicious, it was awkward since the staff member prepared it just for us while we waited. (It wasn't automatically out for anyone who stopped by).

Overall, our stay at the Grosvenor helped make our first trip to Simon's town easy and delightful thanks to their close ties with Apex and lovely accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the bay -- watching the sunset over the water was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiregrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grosvenor. Thank you for your positive review. Please post some of your stunning photographs on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experience in Simon's Town with our extended Grosvenor family.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan - Martini and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend while we were observing Great White Sharks in False Bay, and we had an incredible time. Facilities are modern, not lacking any conveniences. Our room was huge, had an en suite bathroom that was larger and better-fitted than some upscale hotels I've stayed in, and a balcony that looked out over the bay.

There's a full kitchen, common area with TV and fireplace, and breakfast just a few steps away.

The staff was excellent, too. They helped us communicate seamlessly with our guides at the marine safari, had our laundry washed and folded every day when we got off the boat, etc.. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay that's close to the bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we loved hosting you at the Grosvenor. Please post some of your fabulous photos of our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experiences in the "Deep South" with our extended Grosvenor family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Simon's Town and the Grosvenor.
Debbie, Sue, James, Jonathan, Martini and Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nazaire, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were at the Grosvenor Guest House for around two weeks and alf and we like tomuch!Our room was big with a very nice bathroom,the house is very very nice with a beautiful view on False Bay.All the staff was ready all time for to help us if we need,thank you so much at James and Jonathan,they did a very good breakfast every morning and whene i wake up very urly for to go in the sea for to see sharks,everything was ready for me before,they were GREAT!!!IIt was so nice too to have the dog and the cat of Sue the owner come to see us whene we came back of somewhere,they were so sweet.It's very easy too to go by walk in the city of Simon's Town.I deeply recommend the Grosvenor for to have a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we loved having you at the Grosvenor! Martini the dog and Janyie the cat are missing you. Please post some of your stunning photos on our face book page as we would love to share them with our extended Grosvenor family all over the word.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Debbie, Sue, James, Jonathan. Martini and Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Grosvenor in July 2012 for shark diving. My first stay here and my husband's second. It lived up to his positive description and the warm welcome we received from Sue. Fanastic views across False Bay. Useful to have a car unless you're a fitness freak and like the steep steps! Good location for Boulders Beach (5 mins away by car) and about 10-15 mins walk into town.

The guesthouse is spacious as are the rooms within. Very quaintly decorated, with all the amenities that you would need for self catering. In Winter the bedroom can be a little cold (if you're diving it can prove a little difficult to dry things), it was good to have the log burner in the main room which helped immensely. The staff are friendly and helpful too. Would defintely recommend this guesthouse

Room Tip: One of the double room has a bath and shower, so if you like both ask for this one (alas I cannot re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We loved hosting you at the Grosvenor on behalf of Apex Sharks. We would love to see some of your photographs of your experiences in Simon's Town on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page. James and Jonathan are always ready to help you with any of your needs. We do have drying facilities available so next time just give them a shout and they will sort out all your damp clothing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Simon's Town and the Grosvenor Guest House.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.5 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rocklands Bed and Breakfast
Rocklands Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 31 in Simon's Town
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 31 in Simon's Town
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Guest House

Property: Grosvenor Guest House
Address: 37 Forest Hill Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Guest House offers you a choice of executive, luxury guest house or self catering accommodation in a relaxed and secure environment with the most spectacular views of the ocean and the South African Naval Base. Accredited by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. Spacious suites - Stunning pool and pool deck.The best breakfast in town!Centrally situated, within walking distance to town centre and Boulders Beach penguin colony. You don't need a holiday, you need the Grosvenor Simon's Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grosvenor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing