We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharks not playing ball....”

African Shark Eco-Charters
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sharks not playing ball....”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked a trip early in the season and unfortunately the sharks were not playing ball. We were able to see some shark predation which was AMAZING but they weren't sticking around long enough for us to get in the cage. The staff were friendly and informative and despite the lack of sharks it was a great trip. ASEC offered us another trip unfortunately we weren't in the area long enough. So instead they gave u a discount which was more than generous given the warnings clearly stated on their website and the fact that we did see some sharks. Great group and we will be back to the area to do this as soon as we can!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 729TanyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
April is traditionally a good time of the year for the great whites in False Bay and it was a surprise that we had intermediate activity during that month. They are back in full swing and doing their thing, making False Bay a wonderful place to see the AIRJAWS flying sharks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    30
    5
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great crew; great time!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband, adult daughter and I joined ASEC for an early morning cage dive with sharks. Unfortunately for us, it is only intermediate season and whilst there wasn't enough activity to warrant getting in the cage, we DID at least get to see some great whites from the boat. Out of the 11 peeps on the trip, 5 braved the cold water and got in the cage. Of those 5 only 2 saw a shark for a brief moment...the other three only saw seal poo and some fish. So why a "very good" rating? Because the folks at ASEC tell you several times that you are going out in intermediate season and may not see a thing...they are upfront, above board and truthful and I like that in a company. Additionally, there were three boats (including ours) out at Seal Island during the time we were there....our boat saw the most action and I feel that was due to the skipper's knowledge of the area and the sharks' behavior, the crew's relentless efforts in attracting the sharks to the boat, the decoy seal, the bait and the noise they made almost the entire time ... by noise I mean banging on the boat, the motor, the floor with a huge piece of wood, and slamming a bucket into the water. We managed to get 2 or 3 sharks right up to the boat .... in fact, one even slammed into the cage! Pretty exciting stuff! During the times when there was no action, the skipper and crew engaged us all in conversation and kept the trip interesting. We learned that July is the very best month to see shark activity so my husband and I will def be back....unfortunately our daughter was only visiting for 2 weeks from the states so we took our chances and whilst we wish she could have gotten to see sharks up close and personal in the cage, we are happy that we were with the best crew on the water that morning!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for joining us. WE love sharing the great white sharks of False Bay with our guests and glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went out with African Shark Eco-Charters in June. It is truly an experience of a lifetime. We were only on the water for an hour before we were witnessing our first shark breach.
We saw a total of 8 breaches, amazing to watch (even if you do feel sorry for the little seals). Once the sun is up it was time to get ready for diving. The crew was very knowledgeable and professional and truly passionate about the Great White Sharks. The cage can holds two people. We were able to dive twice since not everyone on the boat were interested in getting that close to the sharks. There were three sharks swimming around the cage when I was down. A great experience and would love to do it again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank illaskidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So glad you had a great trip with us. Watching the sharks breaching and hunting is truly an awesome sight not to be taken lightly and then scuba diving with them, what a way to show case the Cape to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great potential, but...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

In Cape Town for 4 days, having read the other negative review, we booked for the 1st full day of our trip, of course it was rescheduled due to weather. The second day was not offered to us (but we heard after that they did run and had great shark sightings. Went out on the 3rd day and it turns out that my luck can skunk even the great Rob Lawrence...we had one shark swim past the boat very briefly a couple times seeing only his back (equating to about 10 seconds of action in the 4.5 hours at Seal Island), we also saw a dorsal fin of a feeding shark off in the distance. Unfortunately my wife had immovable plans for us on the 4th day of our trip.

Now, in all fairness we are dealing with wild animals (just the brief seconds we saw the shark were awe inspiring) and we were happy with Rob and his crew, I would not hesitate to attempt another trip with them. But, African shark Eco-Charters are the experts and I paid for an "Air-Jaws" charter to potentially see predation and go shark cage diving, although no one on the boat saw either. The crew was very apologetic and did say that it was definitely the worst day of this year (and sounded like one of the worst days of most years), but we were still charged for the full-cage diving price for our scenic boat tour of Seal Island. Rob and his crew partially owned up to the poor showing by offering vouchers for another trip, but this was already our 3rd attempt to go and the voucher is only good for one year (I doubt anyone can be expected to make it back halfway around the world within a years time).

This experience was what I was most looking forward to on my trip to South Africa and it has ended very disappointingly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jen and Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We do our best to find sharks and have a very high success rate, but, sharks are wild animals and guests do need to understand that sightings and activity can vary from day to day.

However, the trip you were on was most certainly not an “AIRJAWS trip”, but a morning shark trip (intermediate season).

Our website clearly states that March is not breaching season, and we also mentioned it in our correspondence to you several times that March is not “AIRJAWS time” and the trip mainly focus on the cage diving and surface viewing only.

In all fairness to us, and as a show of good will to our guests we are the only company that offers a voucher in False Bay to join us again at no further charge.
We believe that this conveys our honest ,ethical and fair approach to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great trip, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We went in May and had a couple of reschedules due to weather. Make sure you plan your trip put there early on your vacation so that you have time to reschedule if needs be. Rob and crew were amazing and very accommodating. We got into the sharks in about 45 minutes and had them around for about 20-30 min. Water was a little cold, but not too bad. On the way back saw lots of dolphins and a whale. Oh yeah, if the smell of seal crap bothers you, you might want to bring nose plugs. Overall the trip was amazing, just saving up to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for joining us and we are looking forward to have you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing