We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariner Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$107
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colona Castle(Lakeside)
$211
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Long Beach(Kommetjie)
$333
$292
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
$165
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tintswalo Atlantic(Hout Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$57
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$174
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
303
71
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
71
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseeggs royalefalse bayfour poster bedgreat viewa wonderful staybreakfast was delicioushoneymoon suiteroom was spaciousprivate balconynext morningevery eveningcomfortable stayexcellent accommodationcape townfamily roomboulders beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 384 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying over at the Mariner Guesthouse in Simon’s Town. The view from our room was spectacular and the large rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was great and a special thanks to whoever made the bacon and cheese omelet! The Mariner’s hostess and staff were very friendly and helpful and made a special effort to make us feel at home.

I would recommend Mariner Guest House to anybody wishing to visit Cape Town, but would like to avoid the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. You are also ideally located for tours around the peninsula and visits to nearby towns such as St. James and Kalk Bay. The beaches near the guest house are nice and secluded and you can even swim with the penguins! If you are interested in more action then Muizenberg beach is just around the corner.

All in all a very enjoyable stay that we recommend highly!

Martin and Päivi

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad you had a great time here and thank you for compliment on your omelet. We have added a couple of items to our breakfast menu, one of which is Egg Royale - a potato rosti topped with smoked salmon, soft poached egg and hollandaise sauce - a very popular addition, especially with the ladies and non-pork eating guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We chose Mariner Guesthouse for a romantic breakaway and some much needed quality time as a couple. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite which made it even more special. Everything that was needed was thought of in the room, from UK plug adaptors to fresh plunger coffee and homebaked treats and the attention to detail was spot on. The view from our private balcony was breathtaking and watching the sunrise over the ocean was a special start to the day. To Liesel and her team your hospitality was wonderful and we will certainly recommend you to our friends and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nikkip170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. At Mariner Guesthouse we love to make our guests feel spoilt and if we know there is a special occasion we slip a complimentary bottle of bubbly into their fridge and when we can, we upgrade our guests into the Luxury or Superior rooms. I am so glad that our Superior room was available for the duration of your visit. Kind regards Liesel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My partner and I have just spent a few weeks exploring South Africa. Our last stop was Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula. We had a fantastic tour of the country, but our last few days in Simon's Town and the beautiful Mariner Guesthouse was the cherry on top! The service from all staff members was exceptional. The breakfast gave us a variety of Continental options (cold meats, freshly baked muffins/croissants, fresh fruit salad with yoghurt, cereals, cheeses, juices/tea/coffee). For us this would have been enough, but we also enjoyed the hot breakfast options ranging from Full English, French Toast, great Omlette and even pancakes the one morning! Our room had an air-conditioner which we only used once during our 4 days stay. There were plenty to do for us in and around Simon's Town and we could almost walk everywhere we wanted to go from the guesthouse. We went sea kayaking which was unbelievable, did a fascinating photographic ship-wreck tour, enjoyed the local restaurants and spent a lot of time on our balcony drinking in the breathtaking view. As the last leg of our trip, we appreciated the quiet and relaxing vibe of the town and Mariner Guesthouse. We left feeling revitalized and ready for the new year! An overall unbeatable experience - we'll definitely stay at Mariner Guesthouse next time we have the privelage of visiting Simon's Town.

Room Tip: We had booked the Superior Room to end off our holiday. This room is the "ultimate" with a full en-suite bathroom (extra large bath and shower, his and hers basins), romantic furnishings and private balcony. For future reference we asked to see some other rooms and both the Luxury Room and one Executive Rooms were spacious and modern. The Executive Rooms are more affordable with a sharing (partitioned) balcony and ceiling fans vs AC in to top floor rooms. I would say your budget would probably determine which room to choose as we would have been comfortable in any of the rooms we saw.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We so appreciate the lovely review and taking the time to write it for us. Thank you and we look forward to your next trip to Simon's Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

As a family of 4, we booked the two rooms upstair to form a little suite for a two nights stay. Both bathrooms are quite small and we had problems to get constant water temperature in the showers. There is no air-conditioning, at least in the rooms we had. Even with the windows opened, I would have like to get air-cond. This said, the place is very clean and offer a nice view over Simon's Town.

I think our deception came more from the city itself. Simon's Town is home to a naval base, so there's not much to do except going to see the penguins in Boulders Beach, which was great to do with the kids!! We also used the place as our "base" to discover the Cape Peninsula, and again, we really enjoyed that part of our holiday. Even if we visited in December, a lot of restaurants are closed during the weekdays, so it was though to find a nice place to eat... but there are some!!

To summarize, Mariner Guesthouse is a great place to stay if you want to visit the Cape Peninsula region and bring your kids to see the penguins!

Room Tip: I think the other rooms are more suitable for couples...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YULRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for posting your review, the content of which was noted and appreciated. Since your visit to Mariner Guesthouse air conditioners have been installed in these rooms, as well as bathroom heaters. The "children's room" of the Family Unit has now been fitted with a DVD player and a few DVD's for our younger guests' enjoyment. Although the Family suite bathrooms only have showers, we do have other rooms that have large bathrooms with both showers and baths and are able to accommodate small children in the parent's room in either cots, or sleeper couch. It is important to us that when guests make a reservation, they are quite clear as to what they would like, so we can accommodate them appropriately. We now have a guest info desk to assist guests with ideas of what to do, where to go and where to eat in the area, so our guests can experience all that Simon's Town and Southern Peninsula has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

When we arrived the lounge was occupied by a group of salesmen ? , working on their laptops. To enter the hotel you have go down a staircase and to reach your room again one. The bathroom was very simple , only shower. The next morning at 6.30 shouting guests on the common balcony for all the rooms waked us up.After our complaints they had to leave the hotel.The owners dont live in this house.The lady in the reception is very friendly and the view over the bay is stunning. Breakfast is good , but not special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinenirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for your review, the content of which is noted. Mariner Guesthouse is a split-level house built on the mountain overlooking False Bay and Simon's Town naval base, so unfortunately, we do have stairs.
We encourage our guests to feel at home and to treat the guest house as their home for the duration of their stay, saying this, we do have a no-noise policy which we request our guests to observe, in consideration of others. Since your stay, we have had no repeat incidences on rowdy guests. We have also partitioned the balcony, so each room has their own private balcony.
The house is now completely WiFi, so businessmen are able to work in the privacy of their room on their laptops. There is also a computer in the lounge for the use of our guests, so they can email their families back home, update Facebook with their travel experiences, etc.
With regard to the comment on the bathrooms, we do have other rooms which have both baths and showers. It is important that our guests indicate their preference of bath or shower, or if they request both, at the time of reservation. This enables us to offer our guests the rooms with bathrooms which they will find convenient.
Once again, thank you for your comments, without which we would not be able to implement the changes required to offer a better service to our valued clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews