We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the view is good”
Review of Mariner Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariner Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

When we arrived the lounge was occupied by a group of salesmen ? , working on their laptops. To enter the hotel you have go down a staircase and to reach your room again one. The bathroom was very simple , only shower. The next morning at 6.30 shouting guests on the common balcony for all the rooms waked us up.After our complaints they had to leave the hotel.The owners dont live in this house.The lady in the reception is very friendly and the view over the bay is stunning. Breakfast is good , but not special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinenirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for your review, the content of which is noted. Mariner Guesthouse is a split-level house built on the mountain overlooking False Bay and Simon's Town naval base, so unfortunately, we do have stairs.
We encourage our guests to feel at home and to treat the guest house as their home for the duration of their stay, saying this, we do have a no-noise policy which we request our guests to observe, in consideration of others. Since your stay, we have had no repeat incidences on rowdy guests. We have also partitioned the balcony, so each room has their own private balcony.
The house is now completely WiFi, so businessmen are able to work in the privacy of their room on their laptops. There is also a computer in the lounge for the use of our guests, so they can email their families back home, update Facebook with their travel experiences, etc.
With regard to the comment on the bathrooms, we do have other rooms which have both baths and showers. It is important that our guests indicate their preference of bath or shower, or if they request both, at the time of reservation. This enables us to offer our guests the rooms with bathrooms which they will find convenient.
Once again, thank you for your comments, without which we would not be able to implement the changes required to offer a better service to our valued clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Mariner Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a lovely experience we had at Mariner Guest House. Beautiful place, friendly staff who go the extra mile, comfortable and elegant room, lovely breakfast and stunning view! We will certainly recommend the Mariner to our friends and hope to stay there again soon! Thank you Liesel and staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your referrals. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

What a loved about Mariner Guesthouse was the warm welcome and friendly service.The room was imaculate with soft "dont wana get up" bedding and a view you'll only appreciate once you see it yourself. The daily horn makes you feel part of this quant Navy town!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeJonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I would love to hear your suggestions on how we can improve in the areas where we did not score 5/5. Our guests comments are valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We booked the 2 joining rooms. The children were satisfied that they could have their own room and that there is just a door deviding us from each other should they need us. We made use of their camping cot....thanks!! Breakfast for the family was on time and delicious! Definately the guest house with the most stunning view of Simons Town harbour!!!

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are large and comfortable!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edelgard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you for your comments. We hope you will come and visit us again sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at Mariner Guesthouse in a recent trip to South Africa in April. A lovely surprise was how spacious the guest house is with a beautiful big fireplace for winter and amazing ocean views. Our room was also large and tastefully decorated with a contemporary feel. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay another night!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharonbc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - we appreciate knowing what appeals to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Mariner Guesthouse was absolutely wonderful. We needed a break, and booked the best room. The furnishings were excellent, exactly to our taste. The views were incredible, and the service friendly. We have stayed here before, and can truly reccomend this guesthouse to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the best room, and it was worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WonderfulHolidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I had the best day at the Mariner. It satisfied all my expectations, and I completely enjoyed my stay there. I would recommend it to anybody looking to visit Simon's Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhona9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liesel C, General Manager at Mariner Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. We would appreciate your comments on how we improve some of the areas you did not score us 5/5, as our guests comments are valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
0.5 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 31 in Simon's Town
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Guesthouse

Address: 12 Harbour Heights Close | Simon's Town, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: $97 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of False Bay - Walk to restaurants and beaches! Custom built on the mountain above the harbour in historical Simon's Town, Mariner Guesthouse offers 4 Star luxury accommodation at affordable rates. As an owner-run establishment, we are able to be flexible and accommodating to our guests' needs, and can offer a standard of service that is exceptional and personal. Our 8 spacious and beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms offer world-class facilities for B&B and self-catering. Sit back and relax on your balcony or get cozy in front of our fireplace. We pride ourselves in offering style, comfort and friendly hospitality and look forward to making your stay an unforgettable one! * We now also offer a free evening shuttle service to local restaurants. AWARDS AND ACCREDITATION: We are proud to have been awarded the TripAdvisor WINNER 2014 for guest house accommodation as well as being an Official Supporter of the WTM World Responsible Tourism initiative. Our TGCSA 4 Star Grading and Cape Town Tourism Membership has recently been renewed once again. PLACES TO VISIT: Simon's Town offers the best of both worlds. Just minutes away from hiking trails, the beach and other outdoor activities, this quaint town is also close to shopping centres, sport stadiums, theatres and the Cape Town city-centre and International Airport. Nearby attractions include: Cape Point (Cape of Good Hope) 10km Boulders Beach Penguin Colony 1 km Scratch Patch and Mineral World 5 km Hiking Trails & Bird Watching 5 km Boat Trips & Whale watching 1 km Shark Cage diving 1 km Cape Point Ostrich Farm 15 km Chapman's Peak 15 km GPS: 34'11'.88 South, 18'26'.24 East ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mariner Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing