We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Unique place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonglow Guest House
Ranked #8 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised when getting there. The hospitality, the rooms, the art and the view from the balcony were overwhelming. We enjoyed our stay very much and if ever returning to that area, we will be there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Moonglow Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Moonglow Guest House. I thought we were staying in Simon's Town but was happy to stay in Glencairn instead. Leslie was a wonderful hostess and the breakfast was great. We enjoyed dinner at Dixie's which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonglow2905, Owner at Moonglow Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope you will be back again one day. Just thought it important to clarify that Moonglow Guest House is located in the suburb of Cairnside which is in the municipal area of Simon's Town, much the same as Boulders Beach or Murdoch Valley are suburbs of Simon's Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A previous reviewee said: "Stay at Moonglow" Enough said. Point Blank. Done - Finished.

I thought I would take him up on his bouldness - he sounds like he knows what he is talking about.

I did not believe Gillian when she mentioned that she was watching a whale jump as we spoke over the phone, I said to my wife it is a gimmick.

Turns out this place is really that good.

You can go.

You will be more than happy.

Ah! The views. The Whales. The Railway.

And closeby at Kalkbay there is a Restaurant you got to see - Cape to Cuba - Google it!

Accross the street from there there is a Tappas place too you can't miss.

I can go on and on.....

Room Tip: Not all rooms have the view to the front. Some rooms are bigger than others. If you have young...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webuycarscoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a regular visitor to Moonglow I can most definitely recommend it. The breakfast is very good, the rooms are luxurious and the ocean view is incredible. The owner has the ability to let visitors feel warmly welcome during their stay. It’s really a guest house that you cannot afford to miss.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Moonglow was beautiful. Really amazing views, and we saw whales early! The staff were friendly and helpful, gave great advice on local attractions. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the staff cooked made to order breakfast which was really great!! It is really convenient to get around as its near the train, and Simons Town is quaint and full of nice restaurants and cafes. Had a great stay and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmawaiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fantastic! Thank you Gillian! i'm not very good at English, so I can't describe how beautiful was my stay at your guesthouse. The view is awsome, the whales were swimming just near the coast, beautiful , eccellente breakfast ....

Room Tip: Ocean viene, of corse!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gio05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

On a recent work related trip to the Karoo, my colleague and I stayed at the Moonglow guesthouse. The view is great, the room was luxurious. The hospitality we got from Gillian was very warm and welcoming. I definitely recommend Moonglow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
2.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simonsview
Simonsview
#11 of 31 in Simon's Town
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#17 of 31 in Simon's Town
230 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
265 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Flying Penguin
The Flying Penguin
#12 of 31 in Simon's Town
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonglow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonglow Guest House

Address: 7 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonglow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonglow is situated on the slopes of the mountain overlooking False Bay and the historical town of Simon's Town. With easy access to all of Cape Town and Western Cape Main attractions enjoy this relaxed environment with original artworks everywhere. A full English breakfast is served in the dining room which also has an uninterrupted views over the bay where you might see a whale or a submarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonglow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonglow Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing