We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the quiet - and Gillian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonglow Guest House
Ranked #8 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The view, the quiet - and Gillian”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived to a strong Southeaster which accompanied us for our 3 nights / 2 full days but the chill was nothing to worry about said our host, Gillian: The beds have electric blankets. Perfect bliss is what we called them.

We had a lovely time in the wonderful Moonglow which we can only recommend. Rooms are nicely decorated, good sized and the breakfast was brilliant.

Gillian is one of a kind and really went out of her way to make our trip worthwhile, i.e. phoning Table Mountain Cable Car to find out if they were operating (no, but we were so busy we never noticed), checking weather forecast for our trip to the Cape and recommending routes.

Coming back from Cape Town a little late the next day we found out that the local restaurant Dixie's serves dinner only until nine. When we braced ourselves for a (hungry) hike uphill to get the car who was out there to pick us up and drive us back home: Gillian. She phoned the place when she noticed we might just be a little too late for dinner. Incredible.

Simons Town is very convenient not only to watch the penguins but also for a trip to the Cape of Good Hope. If possible spend a day in the NP as the landscape is breathtaking and the walks are worth it.

Crossing over to Cape Town via Misty Cliffs is very scenic and you can take in amazing views choosing Chapman's Peak toll route. The Constantia vineyards are also within easy reach as is marvelous Kirstenbosch botanic gardens.

The hop on - hop off bus tour is a good way of seeing the surrounds of Cape Town and is great value for money if you do your shopping / sightseeing along the way.

Personally, it was my 3rd trip to CP and I know I will keep coming back - and that includes Moonglow now. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable, Gillian!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
73
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful place this is. The accomodation is good, the decor great and very African, the hosts are knowledgeable and friendly, the food home made and delicious. You can sit on the deck and gaze out to sea, watch the moon come up over the water. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The corner room with views in two directions, especially over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had a great stay at Moonglow. I was undecided about spending the night in Simon's Town, but am now glad that I did. It's a lovely Bed and Breakfast that sits up on a hill over looking the ocean. I was fortunate enough to see whales from my balcony. I highly recommend this property as the host and staff were very friendly and accomodating, the room and shower were extremely nice, and the breakfast the following morning really hit the spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemead, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely night at Moonglow and were fortunate to be there when the sea was beautifully calm and the moon was full so we saw the moonglow on the sea!
The hosts, the view and the food was great.
It is really home from home and much more than a B&B.
Highly recommended if you are planning to spend time in the Simon's Town area.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The friendly and inviting atmosphere of this guest house sets it in a class of its own. No detail has been spared in providing for every need and creature-comfort. Glynn and Gill have managed to create a home from home. We were treated to a 5-star breakfast served efficently and tastefully. The decor with its undertones of Africa lends elegance, stylish warmth and charm to this exceptional guesthouse. The panoramic views from every room and balcony are addictive - and more so when the name Moonglow is illustrated by the path of moonlight across False Bay at night. A beautiful tidal pool and beach is within walking distance. This surely should be every visitor's first choice of accomodation! Thank you Gill and Glynn for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxtel
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We read through some of the other reviews and can only confirm what was written there about the rooms, the view etc. For us however the most memorable was the atmosphere. During our holidays we have stayed in other B&B's too but never experienced the warm wellcome we had at our stay in Moonglow. The homely atmosphere and hospitallity made us feel at home (almost family) instantly. During our short stay we have experienced Gillian and Glen as warm and open people who not only open their home but also their heart to others with sincere interest in their guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place is a dream! I've been to South Africa a couple of times over the last 10 years and I travelled around the country a lot. I always stay in B&B's and I've seen many, many, very nice places but Moonglow is exceptional. The location and the view is incredible, the rooms are very nice but what really makes a difference is the friendliness and comfort of Gill and Glynn! I never felt so welcome and "at home" as here! The atmosphere is very relaxed and everybody seems to have a great time. And that's so easy because this place has so much to offer, including a library and a bar, breakfast is great and we even had a BBQ one night with a fantastic view over False Bay and of course a glowing full moon!

Room Tip: All rooms feature similar interior but you definitely want to have a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern_K_for_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.3 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
156 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
406 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 29 in Simon's Town
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonglow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonglow Guest House

Property: Moonglow Guest House
Address: 7 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonglow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonglow is situated on the slopes of the mountain overlooking False Bay and the historical town of Simon's Town. With easy access to all of Cape Town and Western Cape Main attractions enjoy this relaxed environment with original artworks everywhere. A full English breakfast is served in the dining room which also has an uninterrupted views over the bay where you might see a whale or a submarine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Moonglow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonglow Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing