We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 15 on Penguin Guest House

15 on Penguin Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
15 on Penguin Guest House
Ranked #18 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Gosport
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Only had the time to spend one night here but wished it had been longer! Arnold, Elizabeth and their family were wonderful hosts and treated me like I was a part of the family. The rooms are comfortable and elegant and the staff are interactive and extremely helpful. I would stay here at the drop of a hat if I ever come back to South Africa with my family. If you are in Simons Town please take the chance to visit as it will make your trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent only one night here and was delighted with the feeling of being at home, Arnold and Elizibeth are lovely kind people that shined through during my stay at the guest house. The rooms are of an excellent standard, and the guest house as a whole has a high level of cleanliness and the staff are just fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

From the time we made the reservation to the time we left everything was excellent, the place was nice and clean, the service was very good and what I liked the most is the people there, they were very friendly which actually made me stay longer than expected. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lounes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a relaxing weekend in this guesthouse. The people are very friendly, and the lady of the house cooked a wonderful dinner. Room and bathroom were clean. There is no through traffic on Penguin Drive, and the neighborhood is very quiet. Driving distance to Simon's Town is 5 minutes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiaan_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Having visited 15 on Penguin Drive for the fourth time, it is my home away from home.
I would highly recommend staying there if the chance arises!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We pre-booked this accomodation through Safarinow.com. Sadly when we arrived we realised that the staff had been very clever with their photos and information on the website. We booked the Honeymoon Suite (Which has now been changed to the Honey suite). We wanted to have a relaxing week in a luxury accomodation with our own spa pool, nice views, close to the beach and town centre. We got none of these.
The Guesthouse doubles as a function suite and we were told on Arrival that there was a party night on in the main concourse area, where we would have to go through to get to our room. They also cater for weddings, corporate events, 21st's etc.
This Guesthouse is stuck on a hill, a good 10-20min walk to Simon's Town centre, just next to a big industrial centre. Beaches are also a good walk away too. Our Honeymoon suite view was of the building site directly outside our window (we were told to close the curtains if we didn't like it).
The room itself had wires hanging from the ceiling, where a TV had been ripped from the wall. Cracked tiles in the bathroom, panel missing from the spa bath.
We complained and asked for our 3000 Rand deposit back, we were refused and told that we were due to pay the full amount 6000 Rand. We refused and made a complaint to South African Tourist board, and Safarinow. The hotel owner responded saying that we were racists who did could not deal with non-whites. We were disgusted with his comments. Please do not book here, this is not a luxury accomodation. It is overpriced and very basic in a poor location.
We had a superb holiday in South Africa and found all the other accomodation we stayed in was excellent with lovely people who could not do enough to ensure our stay was memorable for the right reasons. There are loads of fantastic places to stay in Simons Town (not here!).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altobelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onpenguinguesthouse, Owner at 15 on Penguin Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
We at 15 Penguin Guest house were very disturbed by the comment of this guest - who infact did not stay with us,
Yes they did contact the Cape Tourism who duley came to inspect our premises and could find no truth to the complaints.
It is unfortunate that the guest went online to try and rectify the problem if there was one as we aim to please and assit as much as we can.
We are a 3star graded establishment , and are very proud of that fact we are also Highly recommended by the AA.
We contacted the Department of tourism to do and investigation as we very disturbed by this untrue statements by the client. It has cost us loosing potential client and we view this in a very serious light.
We are glad that the guest enjoy theer stay in South Africa the best country in the world - hope that they would be back....
Arnold and Elizabeth Smith
15 on penguin guest house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
5.7 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
3.2 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moonglow Guest House
Moonglow Guest House
#9 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 on Penguin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 on Penguin Guest House

Property: 15 on Penguin Guest House
Address: 15 Penguin Drive, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 15 on Penguin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 on Penguin Guest House is set at the foot of the Glen Marine Mountain in Simon's Town. It features picturesque views of Simon's Town Bay and False Bay. Each elegantly decorated room comes equipped with a TV and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. The private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries are available for guests to use. Guests can make use of the barbecue facilities at 15 on Penguin. Fresh, homemade lunches and dinners are available upon request at an additional fee. A number of restaurants serving a range of cuisines can be found within 5 km from the Guest House. Free Wi-Fi and private parking is available on site. The Cape Town International Airport is a 50-minute drive from the property and Cape Point is a 20-minute drive away. The breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your 15 on Penguin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
15 On Penguin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing