We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but let down by the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place but let down by the location”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Simon's Town guest house is a nicely presented place (it looks like a show home) that has wonderful service from Mischa and lovely views. The main issue that we had with it is that we thought it was in Simon's Town within walking distance to the attractions there but it's actually a 10 minute drive away. That's fine during the day but if you want to stroll to go out to eat and have a glass of wine in the evening there is only one place to go (which is OK but I didn't want to eat there two nights in a row!) Taxis have to be booked 24 hours in advance and there is very limited availability. So, not what we were looking for and in hindsight we would have preferred to stay in Kalk Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
265
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a wonderful 4 night experience this was...fantastic views across False Bay,this extremely modern and superbly run guest house with all mod cons,lovely breakfasts on the terrace and the helpfulness of "Mischa" and "Amanda" recommending places to visit,and local restaurants in the area was excellent. A good base for visiting The Cape Peninsula and the Penguins at Bolders Beach and of course historical Simons Town and in particular its museum,well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms had good views over False Bay,the corner suite we had No 5 was larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterG878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I and our adult daughter stayed at Simonstown Guest House for two nights. Both of our rooms had stunning views of the bay and were both beautifully decorated. The color scheme in the rooms and throughout the house is warm and inviting with a great South African feel. Amanda and Mischa make you feel welcome even before your arrival by offering recommendations for places to eat and things to do via email. It almost felt like we knew them by the time we checked in. Everything in the guest house looks and feels brand new....from the furnishings to the modern and upscale bathrooms. They really have thought of everything between lights that turn on and off via motion sensor as you enter and leave rooms to a fully stocked minibar fridge in each room to free internet throughout the house. We were leaving earlier than breakfast was going to be served on our first day so Mischa packed each of us a bag breakfast/lunch custom made to our orders! The next morning there was a beautiful continental breakfast and we were also served a made-to-order hot breakfast. It just doesn't get any better than that! We are looking forward to a return trip in July!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would have given Simonstown Guest a 7 out of 5 if possible. The quality of the house was exceptional, but the best part was the hospitable staff. Amanda and Mische were lovely hostesses and their suggestions on exploring the Cape could not have been more helpful. Our two night stay simply wasn't long enough to fully enjoy the breathtaking views from our room and excellent service. Do NOT miss this guest house!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An extremely clean and classy guest house with amazing views and attentive personal service. A wonderful place to explore the Cape area from. The breakfasts were beautifully prepared and served and the room was lovely. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing sea views and are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 779LindsayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Do yourself a favour and stay here. You won't regret it. Rooms are immaculate and beautiful. Facilities are first class (best internet connection I had during my whole trip). Service is fantastic and food is delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are thinking of just a short stay either on route to/from Cape Town and want see the penguins down the road then this is the place. Excellent new build with associated facilities. Good restaurant down the hill, easy to walk back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david250253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing