We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
aha Simon's Town Quayside Hotel(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Guesthouse(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magellan's Passage(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
$75
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat House(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
$112
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avian Leisure(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simonsview(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale View Manor(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulders Beach Lodge(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Albatross House B&B(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
386
35
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecape townfalse baykalk baycape pointsteep hillhot breakfaststunning viewsgreat place to staylovely guesthousecomfortable roomview of the oceanamazing roomboulders beachb bswarm welcomebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 425 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The staff was absolutely fantastic, sincerely kind and helpful! The view from our room, and apparently all the rooms was breathtaking and the room itself was truly beautiful. Such a relaxing and wonderful stay! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I am sure every single room is great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elephantlover_11, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thanks Saara... You are right! Every room is great but slightly different in their colour schemes, layout and views etc. All the top floor rooms have 180 degree ocean views (and the Shawu has an ocean view from its bath) whereas the Ground Floor room that you stayed in still has a wonderful sea view. You guys were such nice people and I truly hope to see you back here again one day soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We've been to two other guest houses at the False Bay between Muizenberg and Simon's Town so far and they all were very good, but our last stay at the Simon's Town Guest House was very close to perfection. There are some with nicely decorated, tidy rooms, others with good views over the bay and many with friendly hosts (as so often in this wonderful country), but having all in one and even better is really worth an "excellent" rating. The house is new and was built into the slope of the mountain some 50 meters above sea level. Due to the great layout all rooms are sea facing. And I mean really sea facing not from a side window or between the houses in front. Being there in the right season you wouldn't need to go on a whale watching tour, just wake up, get out of your bed, look through the big windows in your room and enjoy a tea or coffee while the whales and dophins go by. Boulders Beach, Table Mountain, the Cape or the Winelands are less than one hour of driving away. So for us it is clear, that we can't await to be back. Thank you Amanda!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterHRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I highly recommend staying here. We really enjoyed it. Our room had a great view, relaxing atmosphere, nicely decorated and Amanda you are a star. Thank you to go the extra mile for champagne, strawberries and cream, candles etc. It was so special. Breakfast was awesome and service overall was brilliant! Thank you. We had a wonderful weekend and will definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elephantlover_11, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for your comments Renette. It really was such a pleasure doing the extra's for you to give your room that extra touch and make your stay even more memorable. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and had some much deserved relaxation. We hope you will return soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is a high standard B&B with great views from almost every room. Rooms are nicely decorated, big and clean. Bathrooms are flawless. Breakfast with Berlinda (nice and friendly host) was good, a small buffet and all kinds of eggs to order, although fresh bread instead of that toast bread would have been nice. Close to boulder beach to watch the pinguins.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjaVoorschoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elephantlover_11, Owner at Simonstown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thanks so much for your wonderful review Anja. You are right about the views but just wanted to clarify that all of our bedrooms have ocean views with the Kambaku Ground Floor Suite having lesser views than those above but these views are still great.

I have started baking my own muffins in the morning (with the raspberry and white chocolate being a big hit) so perhaps I should take on the task of learning to make fresh bread every so often as Freshly baked bread is fantastic. As we are at the South West tip of Africa there are no bakeries close by or open early enough so we unfortunately haven't been able to provide freshly baked bread and have to opt for sliced bread (white, wholewheat and grain) from a supermarket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I highly recommend staying here. It was great in every way; The rooms are impeccable and are equipped with all the mod cons as well as having views of the sea which are nothing short of breathtaking. The breakfast was fantastic and the service brilliant - Amanda and her staff could not have been more helpful. They gave us a lot of advice and helped us organize activities in Cape Town.

All in all, it was probably one of the best guesthouses we have ever stayed at and if you are going to Cape Town then you have to stay here.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews