We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Immaculate, and Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simonstown Guest House
Ranked #4 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New, Immaculate, and Very Friendly”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We only stayed here fo one night, which was a shame as it is a such a nice house with stuning views over False Bay though the floor to ceiling windows.
Amanda was very welcoming and helpful, even though we were really only passing through. The house itself is very modern and well designed with large and comfortable bedrooms as well as a couple of good size communal lounge areas.
There is a complimentary guest computer as well as free wifi available in the house which is always a nice touch.
Breakfast was good and Amanda even managed to find some baked beans for us Brits. The only suggestion I have for improvement is from my wife who would like to see conditioner provided in the rooms along with the usual bodywash / shampoo / soap etc.
Would definitely recommend the guest house and, if you have the time, try to stay for at least 2 nights as this would be a good base to explore the Cape peninsula and just a few minutes from Boulders Beach for the penguin colony.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
266
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

What an excellent find.The view from our bedroom was stunning. Had a hearty English breakfast on the patio overlooking the bay.Amanda is a perfect host, warm& friendly. Definately recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We have just spent two weeks in South Africa, staying in 4 different Guesthouses. All of them were good in different ways but Simonstown Guest House was the best! The location is fantastic; the house itself is beautiful - large, modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean and exquisitely furnished and decorated. The bedrooms are large and have a seating area with stunning views; beds were comfortable with crisp good quality linen and the bathrooms stylish and modern with top quality fittings.
There is also a large comfortable sitting room for guests as well as outside area with panoramic views.
Tasteful pieces of local art and brilliant photography (by Amanda and her husband) are on display throughout the house.The welcome was warm and friendly and Amanda was really helpful with advice on restaurants etc.
The breakfast was also wonderful - everything you could wish for!
My only advice would be to stay for more than one night in order to enjoy the whole experience. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this accommodation. It is a good base for exploring Cape of Good Hope and visiting Boulder's Bay (to swim with the penguins)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Firstly a great reception by the lovely Amanda. A great place to have a peaceful time. Love the views from our Shawu Room. Love the décor. A very neat place and sorroundings.

A great, full breafast while with the view of the ocean. Surely will be there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This was our first experience of a South African B&B – and I have to say it was a very pleasant one. Our host, Amanda, was really great, providing a really warm welcome and helpful advice.

The room was excellent; it was clean and furnished and decorated to a high standard with a really comfy bed. Importantly for us, it was set in a quiet location - no traffic noise or anything. It had everything you could possibly want. There was even a mini extension to the room which offered a small sitting area to enjoy a drink while admiring the splendid sea facing view.

The breakfast was immaculate – felt strange eating it outside, but it was great.

Complimentary WiFi was also a great bonus.

There is one restaurant within easy walking distance – Dixie’s, a steak house. It was fine.

All in all, a truly excellent B&B. I cannot think of one negative comment. Amanda worked really hard to ensure our stay was a comfortable one, and it most certainly was – a real home from home. No hesitation in recommending the Simon’s Town Guest House – we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Amanda has worked really hard to get this new guest house up and running.She was so attentive in replying to my many emails before we arrived that I felt I knew her already once we did meet.Each room is beautifully appointed and decorated.The views are outstanding. Breakfast was very good and it was so nice to eat outdoors.The aptly named 'Wonderful' looked after us very well.Wish we had been able to stay longer - will definitely return.Great place from which to explore the Cape and many good restaurants which Amanda can help advise on

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2011

It was only for one night, but what a night. Lovely view and a good night sleep. We really enjoyed our stay at Simonstown Guest house. Service was excellent and breakfast was great. We really hope to return to South Africa and visit you again.

Love Johanne and Ross London

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
3.5 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstown Guest House

Property: Simonstown Guest House
Address: 20 Bennetts Close | Cairnside, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonstown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for a relaxing beach holiday. Simon's Town Guest is comfortable, luxurious, modern and peaceful. All rooms are luxurious with supurb ocean views and ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have Air-Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Laptop Safe, Mini-Bar Fridge, Flat Screen T.V.'s with Satelite channels, Tea/Coffee/Kettle/Biscuits, Hairdryer, extra length beds, block out curtains, percale linen, percale linen, feather/down duvets, towels and some toiletries. Each room also has 2 single lounge chairs and a coffee table positoned by the large floor to ceiling windows for the perfect views. Whales can be seen from your room in Season and the most wonderful Sunrises and Moon shines!Breakfast is included and offers a very filling Continental and Full English (including Omelettes and French Toast) Breakfast. This can be eaten in the Guest Dining Room or the outdoor sea-facing courtyard.We even have a lift to help those with heavy luggage and off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Simonstown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstown Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing