We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING FOOD, SERVICE AND VIEWS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bertha's Restaurant

Bertha's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD, SERVICE AND VIEWS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had lunch at Betha's Restaurant in Simons Town, and I can truely say that this was one of the best meal i have had. The food was fresh and the service as great.
I would reccommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Simons Town

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    245
    116
    74
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst service and terrible food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restuarant is in a beautiful spot. we went there for the breakfast and were so disspointed the service is shocking the food was dissapointing; the eggs we burnt and the plate looked like it was placed on barbeque stand! We complained and they still made excuses that they are under pressure when we were the only people in the restuarant; now it explains why it was so empty! Will never set foot at Bertha's in Simontown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura Ndukwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Personally I preferred the food in another restaurant on the pier, as the food we got here was average, but Bertha`s has a much better seating arrangement outside, which is handy if you want to have a beer right on the pier and look out across the water. We spotted a couple of seals coming in around the boat and come up close to pier wall which Bertha`s is situated on and it was a very nice sight. I would eat else where on the pier but Bertha`s is ideal if you are just going for a few drinks in the sun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderfull service, great food and stunning views! If you looking for a perfect place for a romantic dinner, look no further. Work the meal off by strolling the promenade and visiting the statue of Just Nuisance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great views of Simonstown harbour. If Naval history interests you, then a lunch here would be just for you. This is where the South African Navy is based and you will have war ships & submarines in your sights.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WOWCapeTownTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertha's Restaurant also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Bertha's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing