We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying in!”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boat House
Ranked #1 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hosts, incredible view, amazing room with everything you need, amazing breakfast! Honestly I don't have a bad word for The Boat House. In fact we will be staying here again, no doubt!

To add to the above, my fiancee spilled some coffee on one of her shirts. Teresa took the shirt, with a smile on her face, and returned it clean when we got back later that day. No extra charge, no complaints!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved our stay at the Boat House and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Simon's Town. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-designed. The owners, Therese and Lud, were incredibly friendly, helpful and interesting. The hotel is on the hill so has excellent views over the bay and it is just a 5-10 minute steep walk to the main street where there are some excellent restaurants (especially the Lighthouse Cafe). We will definitely stay here if we get to visit South Africa again. The hospitality was fantastic, Therese and Lud could not have been more helpful and even lent us their own waterproof coats.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferperu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I along with our 4 adult children and our videographer all stayed here May 18 and 19 while we toured the Cape and did a shark dive. Spectacular! Everything was super. Therese and Ludwig are superb hosts. The amount of effort and time they have expended on just decorating the three rooms is incredible. The views are breath taking. The breakfast were incredible. The staff was super friendly and skilled. What we enjoyed the most was the fact that you could walk down the hill and be in downtown Simonstown in 7 minutes. The walk back is a bit longer as it is uphill but the convenience for the shark dive and dinner was great. We enjoyed watching guinea fowl in the front yard as they scratched around and enjoyed a drink of water in the beautiful garden area in front of the rooms. Therese and Ludwig's friendliness, helpfulness and hospitality make the stay worth it. The beautiful accommodations and convenient location just made everything extra special. Thanks to Therese and Ludwig for a wonderful stay. Just wish we had more time to stay and enjoy it!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for the best view, the upper deck is your choice. If you are looking for some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaspilot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything was just wonderful! Felt like home... Great views with great hospitality and attention to detail. I would recommend anyone to stay at this establishment. The owner really goes out of her way to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Teresa and Ludwig have created a beautiful place so nice the whole atmosphere is friendly and exciting. The breakfast is just excellent ! All the good people working there will make your stay pleasent.The Boathouse is a must if you are visiting Simonstown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the Upper Deck for 5 nights, and thought this place was brilliant. The amount of work and detail just put into decorating and furnishing the rooms is amazing, our hosts were great, and the breakfasts were so lovely. They're great on the little things here too, like wine and chocolates when we arrived and posies of herbs on the towels, and much more. And the view from our deck area, looking over Simon's Town harbour/docks right around False Bay was superb. Room was large and so well kitted out. All in all a fantastic place to stay - and Simon's Town was pretty good itself too - some nice places to eat and the penguins are brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We think the best in Simons Town run by Teresa and Ludwig we stayed 7 nights in March as our daughter was getting married. Fabulous room we had the upper cabin, good size bathroom and wonderful deck with exceptional views of the bay. Breakfast was exceptional especially the eggs benedict with home made hollandaise sauce. Several of our daughers friends from the UK also stayed and one morning she invited my daughter, her new husband another couple plus the girls down stairs for breakfast as well. We were also allowed to have a large braai one evening which was very brave bearing in mind the amount of people, and we are sorry for the red wine stain.
Thank you again for your hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptional, if you want self catering then the large 2 bedroom cabin on the lower de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dido226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 31 in Simon's Town
117 reviews
1 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#7 of 31 in Simon's Town
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: 25 Dolphin Way | Simonskloof, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boat House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Red Hill Mountains, overlooking False Bay, this guest house offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. It features an indoor, solar-heated pool and BBQ facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing