We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Simon's Town
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
80
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite attention to detail super stylish highly recommend this establishment beautiful hotel amazing views lovely room one night stay cape town comfortable bed private balcony breakfast room great place to stay excellent stay guest house great breakfast false bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 88 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

My wife and I stayed over for our (annual) date night. Arrived late after dinner but everything was sorted and just beautiful. Fine attention to detail and lovely room. Specially liked the gifts in the drawer. The view with full moon rising over Simonstown was cherry on the cake. Would reccommend 100%. Would love to afford to stay 2 nights next year.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BraynBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Penguin Palace ticks all the right boxes for a Romantic getaway in Simon's Town. The warm service from the team is genuine, unpretentious and intuitive. The location is perfect, it's only a few minutes walk downhill a few steps and you arrive at the Waterfront with a few option on shopping and restaurants. The view from our private balcony deck overlooked the marina and entire Ocean. Breakfast is well appointed with an option for both continental and hot breakfast every morning. The decor is chic, white washed beach house with hints of blue and some elegent decoration. A small feedback to improve - Adding a kitchen towel or tissue box in the minibar would be nice.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kiboa12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

Penguin Palace is wonderfully situated - owner and staff are fabulous - rooms are absolutely lovely. Arrangements smoothly made for very late arrival, the only problem is - would have loved to stay for longer

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaL2498, Owner at Penguin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Ah what a lovely 5 star review. We would have loved you to stay longer. Please next time do so and we will welcome you with open arms. Kindest regards Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

The whole experience was incredible, from friendly staff and hostess to incredible food, amazing views and a homely feel in the luxurious room. The staff always asked us how our previous day had been and what we got up to, they even went as far as suggesting things for us to do! We will definitely be back in the very near future!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Road53337379719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaL2498, Owner at Penguin Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Oh how lovely and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes everyone so delighted when people are happy and give us such a lovely review. Thanks so much and we would love to host you again.

Kindest regards Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

Very nice place with great view and friendly staff! A short... but steep walk to center of Simonstown.
Easy acess by car and easy to park.
The view is spectacular and the breakfast is also very good. We can really recommend Peguin Palcace!
Bo and Maria from Sweden

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bothiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews