We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“emilie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“emilie”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at cheriton. The room was comfortable,original and surprising. The owner and the the view on the sea is fantastic for the breakfast. I also really appreciate the kindness of the owner.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and making the effort to write this review. You are right, our Guest House stands out from other B&B's there is a Maritime surprise in every room. We are glad your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
151
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We found this place just by coincidence and it really is one of the best bed and breakfast that we have even been. We were just for one night but definitely will make a point of coming back. The hosts are very helpful, the rooms are comfortable and very well decorated, the house is very clean and tidy. The view from the veranda is amazing and the breakfast is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Wow, how nice it is to get a review like that. That keeps us on out toes. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated. Go well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Strategically located between Cape of Good Hope and Capetown Cheriton makes a good place to stay. Only a short walk to a small but nice beach (with the chance to watch penguins!) and a restaurant with very good food right on its side. Cheritons rooms have marine touch and allow you to sleep well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.
Kind Regards from management and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritsla Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A very nice and friendly guest house with a personal feeling. We had great help from our hosts who answered all our questions and also gave us some valuable advice about excursions, places of interest and so on. Nice breakfast served in a setting with a magnificent view over the bay. We particularly appreciated the fresh fruit salad. Comfortable room. Convenient with a self service bar where you always could have a cold beer. We have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your very informative review. It was lovely having you as our guest. We hope we meet again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were lucky enough to find this wonderful guesthouse - it has the most awesome views and the rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the whole place so clean and tidy. Unfortunately we only had one night here, but we will definitely be coming back and staying much longer next time - my only fear is that we won't get a room because everyone will know how beautiful this place is. Denise and Dirk are welcoming hosts and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Room in the house is good for people with mobility problems. We had 3 rooms booked, all of them wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rctcCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the effort to put a review for us on Tripadvisor. It is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Well third time here, and this time it was with my " squeeze de jour!". I had raved about the Cheriton to him for some time so he was intrigued to see what " all the fuss" was about. He was not disappointed. We fell into step and it was as if we had lived here all our lives. Indeed this time we met some lovely people from all over the world and hopefully will keep in touch with them as well. Far too many laughs and travel stories late into the night with both Denise and Dirk and our fellow guests. I couldnt have wished for a more wonderful return.

Knowing that All the usual faces ( hello Wayne and dear Margaret) are there is something very special. Once visited never forgotten by them. Breakfasts overlooking the sea and excellent suggestions on where to visit from our hosts. I definitely left with a tear in my eye! The eight days we spent with you went all too soon....

so thank you all again. As Arnie says.. " we'll be back"
ps - Denise you didnt send me the recipe for your cheese omelette !!! xxxx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Third time at our Guest-House, not only a treat for you but a big one for us. We were sad to see you go. We had a lovely time together. Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Cheers and look after your " squeeze". We can't wait to see you again. The staff gets very exited when they are mentioned. I just showed Wayne and Margaret your review and boy were they happy to read your kind words. Warm regards from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cheriton Guest House is the gem w/in Simon's Town. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, the grounds lush and inviting, the food delicious, and friends are plentiful. However, what truly makes your stay extra special are hosts Denise and Dirk. Without their hard work, genuine care for their guests and love in what they do, none of the above mentioned would be possible. They have created the best guest house in all of Simon's Town.
We stayed 4 magical nights last week. Had our plane tickets for our trip home not have already been purchased, we wouldn't have left. We undoubtedly will return and spend a minimum of 1 week next time around.
P.S. Dirk and Denise, we miss you so much. Please adopt us so we never have to leave again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnaustalgicTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
How wonderful that we could make your stay so special. For us it was a very memorable four days with very precious people. Some guests will always have a place in our harts. We will not forget you. Thank you so much for the kind words in your delightful review. We will adopt the two of you any time. Can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing