We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delight on the bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lex, KY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A delight on the bay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staying in the "Emily Hobhouse" room with the "Just Nuisance" bar outside our door was truly a unique experience from other B&B's at which we've stayed. We arrived after dark on June 30th so we really couldn't experience the beautiful view of False Bay until our first morning. We thought Denise and Dirk were going to be on holiday but they had a change of plans which turned into a real blessing that we got to meet them. They have a uniquely-decorated place and set an outstanding table for breakfast. We really enjoyed having breakfast on their enclosed deck overlooking the bay. The bed in the "Emily Hobhouse" room was very comfortable (might have been a memory-foam mattress; Denise was a bit worried about how we'd sleep on it but we sleep on a similar mattress at home so we had our best night's sleep at Cheriton in the 3 weeks we were in Africa!) The under-floor heating system kept the tile floor toasty to walk on but the room temperature very controllable. The area was quiet and not a far walk to the Boulders Beach area. If there is anything that might be considered a very-small detraction, it's that their location is about 2.5km from town and an up-hill walk coming back. At least in the winter, public transportation or taxis aren't very available. On our last night, we decided to go into town for dinner and Dirk very graciously took us in and came back for us when we called. That's special service! If we are ever able to visit the Cape Town/Simon's Town area again, we'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prisofazban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for your review and the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
151
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am a fan of South Africa. Was here 4 times and 2 last times nesessary at Cheriton. There are plenty of reasons such as
1 Dirk and Denise became our friends!!! They are absolutely brilliant.
2 The rooms are very good with free wifi
3 Breakfast is very good - boerworste, eggs, yugurt etc. All you wish you can get from the owners.
4 very convinient location -500 m from best Simonstown restaurant near pinguine colony.
5 navy bar-museum is fantastic. many military flags, uniform and so on from different navy forces from the whole world.
6 as a returned gueats we had free laundry

Dear Denise and Dirk! Thanks a lot for your hospitality. Hope I return...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike290967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Immaculate, Cozy, Funky and Fun. Great location with world class views from the breakfast table. Denise and Dirk are genuine hosts who get when to be there and when not to be. It's clear that they love where they live and what they do. If you're lucky Dirk and Denise will regale you with their stories of travels to the bush. Fascinating collectibles and the honor bar is as much of a hoot as Denise and Dirk!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for giving us such an upbeat review. You have managed to portray the attitude that we have towards our guests and our guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Just Nuisance Apartment around the corner from the B&B. Dirk and Denise could not have been more hospitable. The apartment was immaculate and the views stunning. It was within walking distance of the town centre and also the beaches, yet set back in a very quiet residential area. The apartment was extremely well equiped with allocated parking directly outside. We really could have not wished for more and we were very sad to have to leave, but definitely would love to go back. Once again thank you so much Dirk and Denise for enabling us to have such a wonderful relaxing holiday in the Just Nuisance Apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
WE are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay in this unique B&B. The owners, Dirk and Denise, were helpful in helping us plan our day. Great breakfast while enjoying a fantastic view. Spent five years in the US Navy, so really enjoyed Dirk's naval collection.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We fell in love with Cheriton in the very first moment. We planned to stay for one night but eventually we prolonged our stay to 6 days :-) the rooms were so cozy and the owners so helpful. Thank you Denise and Dirk :-)
Some tips to do: talking to D&D, bird watching, drinking in the self-service bar, enjoying the breakfast from the terrace with a wonderful view of Simon's Town, playing with the dogs,etc. Hope we will return one day...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This B&B was overall a great place to call home base while we explored Cape Town and mostly Table Mountain National Park for 4 days. The whole building was cozy and you tell a lot of thought and love had been put into the design. Breakfast and hospitality was nothing short of amazing. Denise and Dirk have a nice personal touch to this place. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Emily Hobhouse is literally next to the bar...was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
11.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing