We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place abroad to feel like at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheriton Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #2 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place abroad to feel like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We fell in love with Cheriton in the very first moment. We planned to stay for one night but eventually we prolonged our stay to 6 days :-) the rooms were so cozy and the owners so helpful. Thank you Denise and Dirk :-)
Some tips to do: talking to D&D, bird watching, drinking in the self-service bar, enjoying the breakfast from the terrace with a wonderful view of Simon's Town, playing with the dogs,etc. Hope we will return one day...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
145
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This B&B was overall a great place to call home base while we explored Cape Town and mostly Table Mountain National Park for 4 days. The whole building was cozy and you tell a lot of thought and love had been put into the design. Breakfast and hospitality was nothing short of amazing. Denise and Dirk have a nice personal touch to this place. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Emily Hobhouse is literally next to the bar...was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our second time at The Cheriton and like some places when you vow to return and are disappointed, the complete opposite happened here. Arriving back it seemed as if nothing had changed from the last time. Excellent breakfasts ( I ate too much !!) Friendly staff and Mine Hosts - Denise and Dirk were as always a mine of useful information in all respects. Its ideally located for the delightful town - stunning beach ( complete with Penguins) and some good local restuarants. Parking is right outside and life is easy. We left there after 7 days with some very good memories. If you are planning a trip - business or pleasure - around this area, then staying at the Cheriton will " do you proud"

Room Tip: We had the transvaal which also has a useful kitchenette and a separate side entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
WE are glad you enjoyed your stay again, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Cheriton Guest House in January 2012 for one night only while on a car tour around the Cape Peninsula. It was absolutely charming, our bedroom and en-suite bathroom were spotless, and the owners were so gracious. We checked in and all we wanted to do was stay for days - a week even - and enjoy the Guest House and the Spectacular Cape. If we ever get a chance, we will DEFINITELY return!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the Simon van der Stel room, which had a double bed and en suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I spend several nights at the Cheriton Guesthouse, during two different trips. Yes, that's the kind of place you will definitively go back to : that's the place you are looking for, stop searching!
Perfectly situated to discover the Cape Peninsula and the Cape of Good Hope.
You can walk to the town center and also to Boulder's Beach, to spend some time with the penguins. In September-November, it is also a great place to watch whales (you can also go kayaking from Simon's town, amongst many other activities...
The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast is amazing (for the view and the taste of the food - yummy).
And the hosts are sooo friendly, you will feel at home. They are very helpful and doing all they can to advice you.
I had a wonderful time, and plan to visit again next September...
Again, that's the place you are looking for, do not hesitate!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbino, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Simon's town.
I spent there 3 nights with my girlfriend and we had a very great time.
We found it clean, friendly, quiet and Denise and Dirk were always there to offer what to do.
The rooms are very nice and clen.
Breakfast is delicious with a wonderful view of the ocean.
There were a tipicall pub and swimming pool with jacuzzi.
Thanks for everythings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matteo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. It is always gratifying to hear that our efforts do not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our stay at the Cheriton was one of the best in South Africa!
As soon as we arrived on Christmas eve Dirk and Denise helped us find reservations for our Christmas lunch (we completely forgot to do it beforehand) and they gave us a few good tips to enjoy our stay in the area. Wonderful people!
As if Simon's Town and all that the area has to offer wasn't enough, the b&b has a quirky pub and lounge filled with all sorts of oddities, collections upon collections, that would keep everyone occupied and entertained. The guest really feels at home with Dirk and Denise as they engage with you in the warmest and sincere way.
Will definitely go back to stay with them if we find ourselves again around the Cape Peninsula.

Room Tip: All rooms are cute and unique, but if you have a mobility issue write to Denise and she will be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaFleseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise And Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
WE are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.0 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
7.3 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Property: Cheriton Guest House B&B
Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing