We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 38 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Price range: $40 - $150
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
IL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It wasn't a bad experience, but don't expect much from this restaurant. At 2pm it was crowded and had issues handling the number people (though it wasn't full). The fish was plain dry and the seafood platter was not tasty. The prices however matched top line restaurants in the area.
If you've just popped out of the amazing boulders beach and need to eat, that's your only option. If you have a car, drive a mile to Simon's town central.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    96
    41
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
W. Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Disappointment for the price and ambience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a wet and windy night and this restaurant was well known locally and abroad. he 6 person table we had 3 people pinned to the wall we coud not get out We had prebooked by phone the number Our menu choice was limited and did not represent the prices.listed
The Ice bucket for the white wines was placed on the floor and after asking for it to be on the table it remained so ,The view and Penguins is lovely. .Maybe our night was a difficult one

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seafood palace”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perfect location just in front of Boulder's Beach Parking. Therefore not to miss if you are planning to see the Penguin colony or swim in a small beach when penguins are coming back to shore (3 PM).

Seafood platter won't dissapoint you, R500.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miki3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lunch in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a lovely morning on Boulders beach with the penguins and decided to have lunch at the Boulders Beach Lodge Restaurant. It was fantastic. We sat overlooking False Bay (saw a couple of penguins running around in the car park while we were there!) The lunch was delicious, all with really fresh ingredients ( and the other diner's lunches looked pretty good too!). The service wasn't particularly fast, but we didn't mind. It was such a great place to sit and enjoy the view. Also, we thought it was very good value. Recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surreytravellor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality food with great sea views”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have only had breakfasts here but it has always been excellent and the waiters are very friendly and give excellent service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EddaNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing