We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When an elephant wants to eat that tree at 2 in the morning, then you dont get any sleep.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liwonde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Well trained staff, know their stuff, very friendly and you are amongst the wildlife.

There is a reason you sign that piece of paper that says "the staff has warned me about walking around at night with no escort and no I may not swim in the crocodile infested river no matter how safe it looks"

Elephants inside the camp kept us awake and the hippos were having a party three "tents" down. You dont just tell 3 tonnes of meat to move along.

The whole operation is geared for low to no impact in everything they do.

Accommodation is basic but very unique and functional (and yes you are safe from the animals as long as you dont go walking around on your own at night.) Food is local and is well prepaired and presented. Dont expect fish and chips or burgers and fries.

The place seems costly but then all meals and game excursions are included. The only thing you have to pay extra for is your bar tab, but with local beer at under US$1 who can complain?

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safetyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

Two couples spend three nights of a 25 day self drive safari arranged by Safari Drive. Everything at Mvuu was wonderful. The rooms the food the staff and the boat and walking safaris. All meals were provided and they were very good. The rooms overlook a marshy tributary to the river allowing private viewing of wildlife including crocodiles, warthogs, waterbuck, baboon, and many different birds. The boat safaris were the most comfortable safaris we went on and provided some of the best photo ops for birds and wildlife. The green reeds and vegetation along the river bank made for great backgrounds.
The "Tents" (more like rooms) with full bath and even an outdoor shower were large, comfortable and romantic. For room service or anything you need you just beat on the in room drum and someone is there in a couple of minutes. It is not a place for the Big 5, but as far as I know, for elephants, hippos, crocodiles and birds it doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantabephotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end our Jules Verne tour of Malawi. They certainly saved the best for our last stay. We were fortunate to have a room for 2 in the Mvuu Camp. I was a litle apprehension about thes tents but they turned out to be spacious chalets and were very comfortable. The only 'tent' bit about them was the tented ceiling. We had a very spacious bathroom at the back of our chalet. You couldn't always use the electrical sockets as the power was turned off at times during the day to save the generator I think. However you could always go over to the main building and they would charge up camera batteries etc for you. Make sure all batteries are charged before you arrive if you don't have spares to hand. The beds were very spacious and cleverly draped with mosquito netting. Not that we saw any mosquitos. We had an afternoon game drive followed by a night drive. There were only 6 of us in the jeep and you didn't see anyone else. The sunset was marvellous. The food was good and included lunch, dinner and breakfast. During the night you were advised not to leave your chalets as we were next to the river and the crocodiles and hippos wandered round at night. We were kept awake by the roaring of the hippos - hundreds of them- and by creatures being eaten. Next day we were up at 5am for a walk in the bush. It was beautiful with all the different birds, plants and creatures. After breakfast it was time for a 3 hour river safari followed in the afternoon by another game drive and night drive. If you want to see the black rhino they are in a separate enclosure and you have to pay extra for this. It wasn't very much. If you're going on the JV tour some people had to share chalets. It might be worth paying extra to make sure you have one for 2 people. There are plenty of them. I'm not sure what the Lodge is like but I imagine it must be even better. We all wished we could have had an extra day or 2 here.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annenzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: nehmen Sie was Sie kriegen! Wenn Sie am Fluss schlafen wollen fehlt garantiert ein Arm oder Bein: me...
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank paopesce711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisissez les bungalow face à la rivière
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liwonde National Park
0.0 mi away
Shire Camp
Shire Camp
#6 of 12 in Liwonde National Park
23 reviews
126.8 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 48 in Lilongwe
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntingdon House
Huntingdon House
#1 of 2 in Thyolo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
N'gona Lodge
N'gona Lodge
#3 of 5 in Chikwawa
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge

Address: Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi (Formerly Wilderness Safaris)
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Liwonde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Liwonde National Park
Price Range: $240 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mvuu Lodge overlooks a secret, tranquil lagoon just off the Shire River, with the main lounge, dining and bar area set high above the water. Its extensive wildlife library and telescope make the most of the exceptional bird and other life that moves around the river, and the pool is perfect for cooling off at siesta time. Highlights In this lush area, the Shire and its floodplains draw an excellent diversity of animals to feed and drink, including a dense population of hippo, crocodiles and large numbers of elephant as well as sable, Lichtenstein's hartebeest, yellow baboon and waterbuck. Non-stop birding is guaranteed here. The Rhino Tracking Experience is a unique opportunity to join the rhino Protection Team scouts and your guide in tracking rare black rhino on foot; learn about their conservation - and end with a delicious bush breakfast or dinner. No visit is complete without meeting the friendly people of the nearby villages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mvuu Wilderness Hotel Liwonde National Park
Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge Malawi/Liwonde National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing