We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Water Paradise”
Review of Pumulani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pumulani
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fresh Water Paradise”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Several generations of our family spent an ideal week-end at Pumulani. From the greeting by Alex and Jake, to the excellent lunch served immediately, to the extraordinarily spacious and well-equipped villas, to all the other subsequent meals served on the deck or on the beach, this place has it all together. The views from the bar and restaurant and pool of Lake Malawi are breathtaking, the swimming and snorkeling and dhow sail at sunset a continuing pleasure. All the staff participated in making our stay there a relaxed and luxurious interval. Nothing was too much trouble. Pumulani may be a bit out of the way, and the prices may seem high, but the rewards of the experience are worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eagle17NewtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Luxury. Decadence. Getting spoilt. If you like that type of attention, this would be the place for you. The best of most worlds, right on the lakeshore, soft white sand beaches and a swimming pol for those who prefer familiarity.

Stargazing, Sunset Sails on the Dhow and our personal favourite a Night Braai on the Beach. (Thats a BBQ for non Sowf Effrikens).

Also, dont forget the flowing of ice cold "Greens"......Carlsberg.

Room Tip: Ask for the first Villa on the left, most magnificent views. Best Villa in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Arrived at monkey bay after an exciting and beautiful plane ride from Lilongwe ( had a tyre blowout on take off but everything rearranged very efficiently by RP staff) . We were met by Alex and Corinne who were friendly and informative, then had a lovely lunch which they had delayed for us as we were late. When we were taken to our villa (5), we were staggered by the size and comfort of it. The 2 terraces had the most amazing views over the lakes. Some villas are down near the beach so a lot of steps need to be climbed, but ours was very close to the main lodge and just along a flat walkway.
Must do - Dow cruise is very beautiful and the visit to the local village is amazing. Loved the fact that the bar is all included in the rates so no need to keep signing for drinks etc and the fridge in the rooms is restocked daily with anything you want.
The food is beautiful and very well prepared and presented. The chef is lovely- great pleasure to chat with him after meals.
I really can't fault anything about Pumulani. Everyone from the cleaners to the managers are friendly and cheerful and nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pumalani is amazing truly stunning and situated right on banks of lake Malawi on side of mountain - the accommodation is nothing short of luxurious and huge amount of room for all - Great staff exceptional food 5 star !!!- but don't like the long stairs to restuarnt some 130 + I believe from lake shores but when you are in restaurant bar area the views are breathtaking - loved it and would return again

Room Tip: If you do not like the exercise of walking up the stairs to restaurant pool area opt for room at top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazabuka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lake Malawi is always magical. I didn't think where we stayed would have much impact on the pleasure of being there until we stayed in Villa 5 at Pumulani. The accommodation was luxurious (hard to remember we were in Malawi!) and the design indigenous without the "tacky Africa" feel so many places seem to achieve. THe staff, all local folks, were superbly trained and the chef definitely knows what he is doing. A beautiful pool and firepit for cool nights rounds out the experience. If you want a 5 star experience next to the best fresh water snorkeling in the world, this is your place.

Room Tip: For the best night sky view, villa 5 but it is also the longest walk down to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Pumulani has breath taking views and is by far one of the nicest places I've ever stayed at. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to get away for a quiet break. I've worked for a number of different caterers in UK and I didn't think that their standard of food was anywhere near as good as the food I was served at Pumulani. The management and team were all very welcoming and definitely added to my enjoyment whilst I was there. If given the chance guests should go snorkelling I had great fun feeding the fish and we even managed to catch them in our hands whilst we were feeding them. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Try and get the room that over looks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny-T-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wew stayed as a family at Pumulani over Christmas 2012 for 4 days. Pumulani was an amazing place - It was beyond any expectations I had. The management were incredibly welcoming and friendly and ensured that we had everything we needed throughout our stay.

The rooms were very spacious, well decorated and well equipped.. a very comfortable place to spend the festive season. One room we stayed in had a great view over the lake.

The food was also brilliant - we all enjoyed every meal.

The lake itself is beautiful - and the lodge is located just inside the park, at a very scenic spot. The pool is very nice and there are plenty of activities to do - if you like activities on water - kayaking, water skiing, sailing etc.

All in all a great experience - one of the best holidays we have had. Would definitely go there again.

Thanks! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liztarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
24.1 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
5.4 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.9 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#3 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumulani

Property: Pumulani
Address: Monkey Bay, Lake Malawi National Park 10101, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Malawi National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumulani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The brightest star on the Lake.” Pumulani is situated on the west side of the Nankumba Peninsula in the south end of Lake Malawi – romantically called “The Lake of Stars.” The peninsula is recognised as one of the most beautiful shores of the lake and borders Lake Malawi National Park (a World Heritage Site). The lodge is built on a steep hillside which provides the most spectacular views from our villas, dining and main lodge area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pumulani Hotel Lake Malawi National Park
Pumulani Lake Malawi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing