We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiboko safaris”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kiboko safaris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here in March 2008 with Kiboko Safaris from Lilongwe. Thoroughly enjoyed it here. Great location on the beach. Staff were helpful at the bar and in arranging trips (horse riding etc) very quiet resort as most are in Malawi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for the very positive review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this magical spot. We have recently completed a refurbishment of all the rooms and the dining area so it is looking even better. We hope you are able to return soon to see these improvements for yourself.

Thanks again.
The Chintheche Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 day & night. What a pleasure. The food was great, the workers were very nice and the rooms were great (for the price and location). We were in a large group and they took great care of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beany_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2015
Thanks for your review! Glad your group had a great time - we look forward to seeing you again soon! Richard and the CAWS team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Used as a stop-over betwen Nyika and Mvuu Lodge, Liwonde. Very comfortable, rooms overlook the lake and beach. Good food, our lake Catfish Fillet in Beer batter was delicious. Worth a couple of days for relaxation if the trip has been busy.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2015
Thanks for staying at Chintheche Inn. Good to hear the food was of its usual high standard - nothing quite like freshly caught fish for dinner! Richard and the CAWS team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a beautiful small resort situated on a lovely stretch of beach on lake Malawi. The beach has white sand, plenty of rees and very nicely furnished with local crafts. Food was also great. A bit pricey, but you certainly get your money's worth. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The only con was that none of the boats were working to explore more of the lake, so we did some kayaking instead. A memorable stay even if its pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansourhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a simple lakeside property in a stunning location. The beach is long and powdery sand. The rooms are unpretentious but clean and comfortable. The food is tasty and fresh and the service was amongst the best we saw in Malawi. The hosts, Donna and Steve, made the stay for us, being so friendly and helpful.
One caveat is that there is a campsite on the property which was empty when we stayed but I imagine if full could dramatically change the peace of the location.
Thank you Donna and Steve, see you again.

Room Tip: Number 1 has two rooms in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The view is fantastic, the grounds cared for, the beds comfy, rooms w patio doors facing the lake, lots of hot water, tasty food, and a down to earth lady managing the place, with an attentive assistant. The rooms are maybe the size you'd find at a Holiday Inn Express in the US, simple in furnishings, but has that tropical African feel. From the back (beachside) the rooms next to each other made me think of those simple motels in Kauai. From the front, the rooms were under a long terraced porch, and in the shade of trees that invited you in to relax. The seating on the property seemed to allow for space n privacy - on the grass and the beach. We worked out the price w the attentive assistant for 5 rooms, and had no regrets from that point on. Maybe it's b/c our team had been working for the last 14 days, in tight quarters, with about 500 lovely locals that this seemed such a height of luxurious rest for us. I think all 9 of us would stay here again! The only reason I did not give it an "excellent", is b/c the food, which was fresh, did take a long time to come. So we suffered in the warm sun on comfy chairs while we waited. :) Oh and I would add, that it is rocky beneath the shore line. If you get knocked down, that what you'll

Room Tip: You can ask to see the rooms. And look at the location of the building in relation to the beach, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Got2Teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I didn't stay here as we had already booked into the Samabani Lodge on a friend's recomendation - which was much cheaper and ok (separate review). But we came here to catch some sport on their TV and to eat. And they couldn't have been more welcoming!
We arrived on a Saturday just before 2. We told the waiter we would like lunch, but could we just see the end of the Lions Rugby Test against Australia on the TV first, please? Of course - he walked across to the camp site bar - maybe 150 metres - and opened up the TV for us. What was especially good is that he did it off his own bat, without having to ask.
We enjoyed an excellent toasted sandwich (with salad & chips/fries) for lunch and then returned in the evening for steak (probably the least exciting meal we had there).
On the following day, we walked to the Inn along the beach, enjoyed another toastie and sat down to enjoy the Wimbledon men's final - with sweet potato chips/fries! Dinner of fried kampango was excellent.
We did not see the rooms, so cannot comment on the accommodation, but the key thing for me was the warmth of the welcome and the level of service. We weren't going to stay, but that didn't stop them! Donna & Steve make an excellent management team and they have good staff, so I would have no doubt that you would not be disappointed if you go there.
Yes - I understand it is expensive to stay in a Wilderness Safaris place, but if you score people (both management and staff!!) for effort, then this deserves commending!
(Note - I rate this good value for food and drink, but cannot comment on accommodation value)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smog32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
2.6 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#2 of 5 in Chintheche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
20.3 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
#3 of 5 in Chintheche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
155.2 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn

Property: Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn
Address: Lake Malawi shore, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi (Formerly Wilderness Safaris)
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Malawi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chintheche Inn is set in extensive, lush gardens dotted with splendid, shady trees and overlooking Lake Malawi which, oceanlike, stretches to the horizon. The distant Viphya Mountains form a dramatic backdrop. There is a central dining area and bar, and meals often take place (weather permitting) under the stars or in a secluded corner of the garden, near the large swimming pool. Chintheche Inn boasts some of the finest beaches on the lakeside as well as excellent freshwater activities such as boating and snorkelling. Meeting and interacting with the local people, biking through villages and learning about the Chintheche Tree Planting initiative from our staff are just a little of what makes the friendly, laid-back Inn such a unique place to visit. Birdlife is abundant, while the reclusive mutable sun squirrel may be sighted in the gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central African Wilderness Safaris Chintheche Inn Lake Malawi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing