We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good first night on safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serena Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Comfy rooms, excellent food and a cosy hot water bottle too! Good opportunity to view the watering hole and its animal visitors. We spotted 'gennet', waterbuck and monkeys (watch those biscuits!) A lovely introduction to our first night on safari

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurse-suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a block hotel but still has a great feeling around it. We stayed on the ground floor right over the water hole and enjoyed great views of the animals coming out to drink and eat.
the rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Lodge. To make up for no game drives the Lodge offers a couple of activities. The opportunity to walk in the forest was a chance to get a bit of exercise and the afternoon tea in the middle of the walk was a pleasant way to pass the time. Nice surprise comes with the coffee or tea. Also in the evening there is a nature talk. The water hole had some activity most of the evening - elephants, buffalo and hyenas. We watched a stand-off between the buffalo and elephants.
This is one of the best meals we had while in Kenya - if you get the chance try the trout.
Rooms were good but slightly noisy but this is due to the type of building.
Certainly worth the experience and much preferred our stay here than Treetops Lodge. Both lodges are same type of construction but the Mountain Lodge is better maintained and more comfortable lounge, better food, better service, better rooms and better waterhole.
One night is probably enough here but if you are looking for a place just to relax and get away from the hectic crowd of animal watchers stay here longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

In checking with other Trip Advisor reviews, we were skeptical of our visit to this property. However, we were happy with our room and the property. The property has been around for awhile and yes, the rooms have thin walls and the monkeys DO GET IN YOUR ROOM if you forget to shut the balcony door. Our travel mates lost a bag of candy as well as a new bag of Kenyan coffee they nibbled on. The balcony and viewing area right outside your room make it convenient to keep an eye on the watering hole. We were disappointed in the few number of animals that visited, but no control over that. Nature walk was interesting and informative. If you have your own rain gear, take it as the ponchos they provide are hot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food was good but that was it. The place is quite old, made of wood and creaks a lot. It was built for a by-gone era and now should be gone. The rooms were very small and cramped. The walls paper thin and echo neighbors conversations. The floor boards creaked and people moving about above sound like a herd of elephants. The place is poorly maintained with electric power dropping out regularly and timber cladding falling off. The dining room was cramped with old furniture. Restaurant staff were grumpy. The place overlooks a water hole but few animals visited it.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor to avoid the elephants above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 911JohnA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a small lodge, with all the rooms overlooking one unique feature; a watering hole and salt lick. At various times of the day, a parade of animals will arrive at the watering hole to refresh themselves. You'll see Buffalo, jackals, Elephants, gazelles, Zebras and lots of mischievous monkeys that will come up to your balcony and want to have tea with you. Be careful to lock your balcony door because they know how to open the door and help themselves.

The food is very good and the staff is very nice. Be sure to take warm clothes, sweaters etc as you are at high altitude and it's quite cool.

The rooms are not insulated for either cold or sound. You'll get hot water bottles in your bed before you retire to keep you warm and this works quite well. You will however hear every word and sound made by those in the next room, so keep your voice down and govern yourself accordingly.

Your window on the watering hole is like a big screen TV permanently tuned to the National Geographic channel.

Great for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheyenne2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent the 1st night of our essence of Kenya safari here, after 36 hours travelling this place was heaven on earth and more, we were welcomed by the staff with a drink and shown to our rooms, these are basic but comfortable like a swiss lodge everything is wood, with a balcony overlooking the salt lick. We sat out on the balcony quitely watching herds of buffalo, warthogs, impala and monkeys milling around.
We chose to have a nap prior to dinner which was unfortunately disturbed (rather amusingly) by a burgling monkey going through our rucksac! Tip: keep your balcony door bolted. Dinner was fantastic the food was all cooked to perfection and the choice was large and varied shame our belies would not allow us to eat more. After dinner we received a tutorial about the location and wildlife that was both informative and interesting. We retired to our room to snuggle on our balcony under a blanket (quite chilly up the mountain) to watch wildlife in action, the salt lick is floodlit at night and were surprised to watch a hyena stalk and chase a impala and lots of night activity going on.
We retired to our bed both exhausted and excited, great touch was a hot water bottle each in the bed that helped send us snuggly off to sleep although the neighbours had asked for a call from the watchman if the elephants appeared which came about 4 in the morning, we had only requested a call for leopards as one had been seen the previous night. We found out in the morning they had gone down to the ground bunker next to the salt lick to be right next to them.
Breakfast was a large varity and just as sumptuous as the previous nights meal. The staff were pleasant and nothing was too much.
It was a real dissappointment to only have stayed one night, this place would be fantastic for a couple of nights to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosshops00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
15.2 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
314 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
23.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
334 reviews
26.4 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
221 reviews
23.3 mi away
Giraffe Ark Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range: $215 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing