We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel over a water hole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serena Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel over a water hole”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is situated over a water hole with every room having a balcony view.Hot towels and a drink on arrival was most welcome. The rooms are a little small, well equipped but the balcony was great with a comfortable cushioned bench, the views were great. At bedtime they put a hot water bottle in the bed, I found this more useful put in my clothes whilst I sat on the balcony watching the animals. Meals were great, buffet starter and desert (if they are serving 'fruit pie' - have some - you will regret it - superb). Main course were of excellent quality. You might trouble to get a good night sleep as you will find it difficult to pull yourself way from the balcony. The animals are great and you will get good views.

Room Tip: Arrive as early as possible - the better rooms are given to the first arrivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryhammond8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    151
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
81
152
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our stay at Mountain Lodge was short but extremely enjoyable, we arrived at the end of lunch but still received excellent service and our best meal since arriving in Kenya. The rooms are small but cosy and reminded me of an European Alpine Lodge/Chalet, they all face the waterhole with private balconies for unobstructed animal viewing. We had been warned it could be very cold, although it was actually quite mild in November but we still had lovely hot water bottles placed in our bed while we were at dinner.
The whole lodge is built around the water hole with an open viewing platform and a ground level photo hide reached by an underground tunnel, where it was cold! The bar is very cossy with an open fire andcomplimentary tea and coffee provided all day. The viewing platform backs onto the bar what better way to enjoy a pre dinner gin and tonic than viewing the water hole as the sun went down. We did not see a large amount of animals but the whole experience was amazing.
I went on an afternoon Nature walk with Benson an excellent guide who also gave a nature talk after dinner. The Special tea and cake half way through the walk was most welcome and a great surprise I don't want to ruin for others.
The Gift Shop was small but very well stocked and fairly priced, I bought a lovely Hippo.
Dinner was as good as lunch the chefs are to be congratulated for the excellent standard of food and champagne for breakfast wow if only we had more time.
Before you go to bed you can fill in a form asking to be woken if your favorite animal is spotted during the night, unfortunately no leopard was seen during our stay but we were woken to a magnificent view of Mount Kenya.
My only complaint about our stay at the Mountain Lodge is that it was too short, we will be back but for longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aizfgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon safari with Somak in September 2012. Stayed here for 1 night, it's quite a way up the mountain, make sure you have extra layers with you as it can get cold. When we arrived in our room, it was comfortable and warm, make sure you keep the balcony door closed when you are in the room as it can get a bit chilly and to stop monkey invaders. The staff bring round hot water bottles round in the evening before dinner was a lovely touch. It was fab to see warthogs, baboons and waterbuck up close. At dinner a member of staff came round with a list of animals that may come in the night and if you wish to be woken to see them if they came. Lovely staff and had a fab stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The view from all the rooms is great. Looking at the waterhole where waterbucks and elephants are drinking. Staff is friendly. A waterbotle is put in the bed for the cold nights (keeps the feet real warm). Keep the door to the balcony closed when you are not on the balcony. Otherwise the baboons will plunder the room!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuntje18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a unique experience it was walking into this lodge! We had the best room, "Kifaro". With a huge wall to wall glass window in our room instead of a little balcony. The view was spectacular! We sat and watched many animals come to the waterhole to drink and also watched the beautiful sunrise and view of Mount Kenya.

The room was comfortable & clean. The staff very friendly. There was a wide selection of salads & deserts on buffet and main meals were ordered from a set menu. We have travelled widely and stayed in many 5 star hotels, but have never had "Champagne breakfas"t before, so it was a treat.

We only stayed for a night, and i think it was enough to just relax and do nothing after a lot of travelling to get there, You also have an option of a bush walk, but we opted out. Overall, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tickedthebox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Walking into the lodge, was like walking through the cloud cover (because we WERE walking through cloud cover). Though I did get welcomed by the bites from a couple safari ants on the way in.

The lodge itself was very nice - very rustic feel, lots of wood and old beams. I believe each room has a view of the watering hole - but unfortunately, for us, the weather was pretty rainy during our 1 night stay, so we only saw a few animals (cape buffalo, some giant pigs, some gazelles, a couple of warthogs).

The food was incredible and the views - both from our room balcony and the observation deck - were perfect.

The only downside (though admittedly logical) were the signs to keep quiet - in the obvious areas of the lodge. This makes total sense, so the animals aren't scared away, but it also made it clear for us, that it was good to be here only 1 night. I did love the hot water bottles that were found when we turned down the beds. Soooo nice, especially since it was pretty cool when we went (Dec 1).

Room Tip: Very clean, well kept rustic looking rooms. Extra blankets (which we used) and the only downside wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svedala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first stop in Kenya, and of the four lodges we visited this was my favorite. The water hole is very close to the rooms, and you get a magnificent view over it. When we visited there was a herd of buffalos, warthogs, waterbucks and more coming to drink. I liked all the monkeys around the hotell, they gave a very nice "Welcome to kenya"-athmosphere. Be careful not to let them into your room or near anything edible though.

The rooms were nice, the beds were comfortable, they even supplied us with heat bottles to keep us warm during the night.

The food was great, and getting champagne for the breakfast was icing on the cake.

I'm happily recommending this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
15.2 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
297 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
328 reviews
16.2 mi away
Outspan Hotel
Outspan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
98 reviews
15.9 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Property: Serena Mountain Lodge
Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing