We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serena Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a unique experience it was walking into this lodge! We had the best room, "Kifaro". With a huge wall to wall glass window in our room instead of a little balcony. The view was spectacular! We sat and watched many animals come to the waterhole to drink and also watched the beautiful sunrise and view of Mount Kenya.

The room was comfortable & clean. The staff very friendly. There was a wide selection of salads & deserts on buffet and main meals were ordered from a set menu. We have travelled widely and stayed in many 5 star hotels, but have never had "Champagne breakfas"t before, so it was a treat.

We only stayed for a night, and i think it was enough to just relax and do nothing after a lot of travelling to get there, You also have an option of a bush walk, but we opted out. Overall, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tickedthebox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    148
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
151
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Walking into the lodge, was like walking through the cloud cover (because we WERE walking through cloud cover). Though I did get welcomed by the bites from a couple safari ants on the way in.

The lodge itself was very nice - very rustic feel, lots of wood and old beams. I believe each room has a view of the watering hole - but unfortunately, for us, the weather was pretty rainy during our 1 night stay, so we only saw a few animals (cape buffalo, some giant pigs, some gazelles, a couple of warthogs).

The food was incredible and the views - both from our room balcony and the observation deck - were perfect.

The only downside (though admittedly logical) were the signs to keep quiet - in the obvious areas of the lodge. This makes total sense, so the animals aren't scared away, but it also made it clear for us, that it was good to be here only 1 night. I did love the hot water bottles that were found when we turned down the beds. Soooo nice, especially since it was pretty cool when we went (Dec 1).

Room Tip: Very clean, well kept rustic looking rooms. Extra blankets (which we used) and the only downside wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svedala, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first stop in Kenya, and of the four lodges we visited this was my favorite. The water hole is very close to the rooms, and you get a magnificent view over it. When we visited there was a herd of buffalos, warthogs, waterbucks and more coming to drink. I liked all the monkeys around the hotell, they gave a very nice "Welcome to kenya"-athmosphere. Be careful not to let them into your room or near anything edible though.

The rooms were nice, the beds were comfortable, they even supplied us with heat bottles to keep us warm during the night.

The food was great, and getting champagne for the breakfast was icing on the cake.

I'm happily recommending this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is nothing like this elsewhere! It gives us an opportunity to watch the animal in such a short distance. I could almost touch the baboon (I just assume everyone who goes to Kenya must be a animal lover).

The hotel is under very a good management, from the mintue you step in, you can feel the hospitality from the hotel staff. The lobby is small but cosy. There is a little rack outside the hotel and the staff puts meats there to lure the wild animal. The most frequent animal visitors are bushbucks and buffaloes. They usually come in groups.

The hotel provides a form for your to fill in. You can tick the animal you want to see, once the staff spots the animal around the pond, they will knock your door and inform you. In this case, you won't miss any animals.

The hotel room is clean and has big windows. You can see baboons come and go outside the window. There are no phones and tv in the room, but who need that in the forest? We were so busy with the animal watching at the evening.

The bush walk in the afternonn is marvelous. The tour guide gave us a lesson on wild life animals and plants. The staff also arranged a afternoon tea for us in the forest! Can you image the staff carried the cups, tea, milk and biscuits all the way for us? It is a real suprise and we sincerely appreciated their hard work and thoughtful arrangement!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is special. It is lovely watching the animals coming to the watering hole and the food was excellent. All rooms face the watering hole and each has its own balcony as well as the roof terrace and the 'look out den' which is located right by the watering hole edge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Chris000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed over night at this wonderful hotel. We were lucky to get there in time for lunch as the road was paved all the way to the hotel, unlike most other location we visited on our recent trip to Kenya. We were checked in very quickly and effeciently.
Our room over looked the waterhole and we could sit a relax and view any animals that came to drink. The room itself was quite large for a tree house experience and the bed was very comfortable. There was also enough space for three large suitcases. The bathroom was compact but very nice. The shower pressure was very good and it was nice to have a good hot shower.
The meals are served in the restaurant located on the level above the reception. The food is very good as expected of a Serena hotel, and I loved the variety and quality fo the deserts here. All meals are ordered as there is limited space, but the choice one had was quite good. There was also a good selection of Indian vegetarian items.
Since the whole building is made of wood, the temperature was comfortable inspite of it being quite cold outside. The is an open look out behind the bar from where you can have an unobstructed view of the waterhole. There is also a open terrace lookout and a underground bunker from where you get upclose to the animals at the waterhole.
Sadly, we didnt have much game viewing as it was raining, but the experience of the hotel was truly satisfying. Since you just stay indoors and relax, it is a very refreshing change after the tiring trips to other game reserves.
A special mention needs to be made on the slideshow which was presented after dinner. The show was very informative and we gained so much knowledge on Kenya and the animals that is has to offer. I would recommend not missing out on that when you visit.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the waterhole, but the rooms in the lower level has a upclose view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommasoinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have loved every minute of my stay here.. The hotel is lovely, the food is amazing and the staff couldn't be nicer. I loved the balconies overlooking the watering hole.. We saw elephant, Colobus monkeys, warthog and buffalo in our one night here.
The walk was very worthwhile and good value for money.. Having someone along who could identify every plant and their medicinal values was amazing. (I'm not sure how people can say its not worth it when they didn't even do it...) As well as seeing the animals from close up in their own environment which was very special.
I couldn't fault this hotel at all and would happily recommend it to anyone!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
23.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
434 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
323 reviews
26.3 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
188 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rhino Watch Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Property: Serena Mountain Lodge
Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing