We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite from all camps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite from all camps”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was in Kenya for three weeks. Just came back. Sweet water was my favorite. I did not like Fig Tree in the Masai Mara. I really didnt like my driver Salim Santy. Someone recommended me and without checking i took this guide. he was horrible. Didnt see any animals, spoke on his cell phone the whole time, wanted to leave late and come back to the camp early. Has no knowledge on the animals and history. Very bad driver/guide. I asked his so many little things and he just didnt do it. He lied so many times and gave me answers that are in-correct. if you need any help you can email me at sarelmeirovich@gmail.com

Sweet water was incredible! Good amount of animals, you see a lot and most important you can do a night drive. Ask for a discount. They will do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
58
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The experience was magical, James Odenyo will make you feel home away from home. Best chefs, safari was awesome, the nurse in the location was very helpful. Kids loved the Camel ride and weather exceptional!! Staff are warm and friendly!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved Sweetwaters! The tents were very nice (although they were smaller than the ones we had in the Mara). All giraffes, impalas, wild beasts, etc, are RIGHT outside your tent which makes this place awesome :o) In the afternoon, after spending the day gaming, enjoy a cold beer watching all the animals drink water in front o the lounge area. Food was great and the little store outside the reception had quality stuff at very cheap prices. We were with our 3 and 5 years old and they had a blast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Expected more after seeing reviews etc in Australia. Accommodation was very tired and in need of upgrade. Whilst accommodation did overlook the lagoon and animals did come - Not many animals. Food pretty ordinary. Had a massage which they forgot to add to bill then had the inconvenience of having to return to the Serena Nairobi Hotel to pay the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went here with my son Andrew and just love it! Food was first class. The tent we stayed at was just like a 5 star hotel. Everyone was just so nice. We had a 6:00am private safari and the restaurant opened early to serve us breakfast and even gave us a boxed lunch for our trip. I would stay there again and recommend anyone to stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Some tents are new and some are closer to the watering hole where you can see hippos, elephants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sweetwaters was great from the experience point of view.
Tents are a little dark at night, but overall, we had great time there.
Animals are within a short walk. We actually faced antelopes right next to our tent when arrived back from dinner.
Internet is free all over the place which makes it nice and convenient.
Food was nice. They even ask for the kids choice of dinner and tailor make it for them on top of the regular menu.
In the evening the staff make sure each bed is added a boiled water pillow to keep you warm at night- that was a nice surprise to find under the blanket!
The kids loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We LOVED this place. the food was better than any other safari camp, or any other place in Kenya for that matter. This chef is special. The upscale rooms are beyond luxurious, and worth the extra cost. The animals we saw, both at the camp lake and the safari ground, were spectacular, and the staff were absolutely delightful. The area around Ol Pajeta is unique with the chimp and rhino conservatory. Will we returning here for sure!

Room Tip: Go for the new upscale rooms, if any are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.8 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
293 reviews
26.3 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
219 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
84 reviews
24.3 mi away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Ol Pajeta Conservancy, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweetwaters Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Tented Camp Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing