We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend staying in Henry's hut. The hut was very comfortable and we especially loved the convenience of a delicious home cooked meal delivered to our front deck overlooking Barney (which we climbed). The managers were friendly and knowledgeable and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant . Bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept- loved the environmentally friendly touches. Without a doubt we will be returning on a regular basis!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
.Thanks for your great review of Mt Barney Lodge. We try to pay special attention to all the little details as we know this results in an overall fantastic stay. Nice to read that you plan to return again - "your hut" is also lovely in winter as the potbelly stove warms the whole cabin and provides lots of ambience. See you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    38
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
93
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is excellent and I am not at all surprised to see it with such good reviews.

Unfortunately due to busy work schedules we were only able to stay for 1 night. We were in Boolamoola which is a beautiful old Queenslander homestead. We arrived on a hot and sweaty evening and took a short walk to a water hole for a swim. Feeling refreshed we watched the sun go down with a few bottles of wine on the balcony. The next day we hiked to the lower portals, it was awesome. As the review title says, we are deifinitely going back... But with more time and more friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. For a short break, you really ticked off some highlights of the area!! We look forwards to sharing the amazing natural drawcards of this place with you when you have more time. The Lower Potals has some excellent exploring to be done further upstream, it is easy to make a day of it. Please chat to us next time you are here to get the "secret local knowledge" ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 4th year camping here with friends over New Year's Eve was every bit as peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable as the previous years. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable, and our kids absolutely love the organised night adventures.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We relax our usual 10pm noise curfew only at NYE, but even then we have a giggle as those who make it to midnight are hardly a noisy rabble ... with a full day of hiking, swimming,camp duties, and tending the campfire ..... the campground is really mellow. It is one of our favourite times of the year. Thanks for sharing it with us 4 times now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in Forresters Hut at Mount Barney Lodge in the school holidays. The hut was well equipped with a full size fridge, cooker and bbq outside. The views to Mount Barney were amazing from the front veranda and the covered area at the back of the hut was perfect to roast marshmallows in the evening. Even the toilet block was close enough for my parents and children. We ranged from ages 7 - 75 and there was something to interest everyone. We even saw a platypus at one of the swimming holes. The lodge is based on green principles and it's easy to recyle.

Room Tip: The huts are basic but the beds are very comfortable and overall they are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We camped in an open field with a few trees - lots of grass and lovely views of Mt.Barney. The shower block was lovely and clean and there was even a pot of fresh flowers everyday by the basin. Lovely people. We shall certainly go again. Very good value. Great swimming hole and river and bush walks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annebelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed two nights in the trailer and enjoyed the superb views as well as the excellent meals. We used Mt Barney Lodge Country retreat as a base for climbing Mt Barney and Mt Maroon. It was a wonderful place to relax after the walking. The showers were refreshing and the staff very welcoming

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cratrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rRedcliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

calm, quiet beautiful situation and although it felt remote, the site is close to Brisbane. Great not to tell the children to switch off the computer, or other technologies! Safe waterhole nearby good for any ages. Loved the brick built fires. Definately recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barney View
19.8 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
24.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
14.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barney Creek Cottages
Barney Creek Cottages
#2 of 2 in Barney View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat

Property: Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
Address: 1093 Upper Logan Rd, Barney View, Queensland 4287, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Barney View
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Barney View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Barney Lodge is family friendly, and has adventure activities for kids and adults including rock climbing, abseiling, kids night adventures, guided and self-guided bushwalking tracks, sunset ecotours and mountain guiding and expeditions. Situated at the base of Mt Barney within the Scenic Rim, Mt Barney Lodge is an Ecotourism retreat that offers self contained accommodation and optional meals. Relax in one of our Queenslander Homesteads, Rustic Cabins, Deluxe Camper Trailers, or try camping. Mt Barney Lodge is the perfect family destination with full creek frontage, open fireplaces, shade and a grassy camp ground. Qualified outdoor leaders run childrens’ adventure activities during holiday periods and weekends. Kids can play independently, ride their bike, and visit the farm animals who are helping with the permaculture garden. Mt Barney Lodge is perfect for small conferences, meetings and team building workshops. Groups are welcome with 46 people able to be accommodated in beds across the 6 venues.This wilderness experience is 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing