We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the service provided”
Review of Kerlingarfjoll

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seltjarnarnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerlingarfjoll
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic and is definitely worth a visit. However, as this hotel is the only one in this remote area, this probably explains that they can charge so high rates for the rooms there (150 euros / night for a double room). The price is absolutely not justified by the service provided.
There are 4 small rooms per cottage, with a toilet and a small handbasin with cold water and no shower. There are only a few showers for the 90 people staying in the area and they are only open 4 hours a day. The breakfast is ordinary but included in the price.
There is a very basic and dirty kitchen you can use if you don't want to pay for the restaurant which is really expensive as well.
The staff is for most of them not friendly at all.
Regarding the area, there is a hot pot if you walk about 30 minutes but this is absolutely not worth the walk compared to what can be found in so many other places in Iceland.
For information, there is no river crossing to reach the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jupiter219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Kerlingarfjoll
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: I cottages sono molto costosi per quello che offrono, meglio campeggiare
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giacomo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edvlcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank lunaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MartinSlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank puppy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seltjarnarnes
0.0 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Laki
Hotel Laki
#1 of 1 in Efri-Vik
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerlingarfjoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerlingarfjoll

Address: Kerlingarfjoellum, Seltjarnarnes, Reykjavik 172, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Seltjarnarnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Seltjarnarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing