We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views, great location, and the perfect...”

Review of Fondo le Teglie

Nestled in the green hills of Umbria
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled in the green hills of Umbria
Front terrace and living area Open space living and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Nestled in the green hills of Umbria
Front terrace and living area
Open space living and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen and lounge area
Study
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom with shower and tub, two pedestal sinks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Sismano, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LeslieAOB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing views, great location, and the perfect vacation rental with a home away from home feel.”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This villa will boy disappoint. Each morning you wake up to beautiful views of Umbria and each night you settle down with a warm fire, a cold drink, and friends. If you are looking for a great family friendly house and the perfect place to reconnect with old friends, this property provides spacious rooms with a close feeling to keep everyone comfortable. You won't find a better kept property in the region!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous. Best B&B experience ever.”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I don't usually write reviews but this gorgeous, renovated farmhouse was absolutely stunning. It was surrounded by the most peaceful and picturesque Umbria hills but close enough to some of the little hill towns in the area that there was plenty to see and do. Everything was absolutely top-notch, modern, and perfect: gorgeous kitchen, bathrooms with every convenience, luxurious bedding. Our host Susan was available for everything and anything. A warm and cozy environment all around. You could not choose a better place to stay in Umbria. I would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, outstanding villa!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Susan,

My wife and I are truly impressed by your beautiful villa. We can only imagine the persistence and tenacity it took to restore it. You should write a novel, "Under the Umbrian Moon"!

I asked Katia and the kids what they liked most about their stay:

Katia: “Its peaceful and family atmosphere, being able to spend time together with my family, getting to know Susan (and her warm hospitality), the lovely décor, and the villa’s rustic/contemporary ambiance …”

10-year-old daughter: “Its fanciness, being able to relax ... and free wi-fi...”

8-year-old son: “The pool...”

Bret: “The top notch landscaping; taking meals on the veranda while enjoying stunning views of lower Umbria’s gentle rolling hills; the huge, wood-burning oven and learning about cooking by wood-burning fire; admiring the fine Italian craftsmanship it took to convert a 300-year-old farmhouse into a fantastic vacation villa; waking up to birds chirping; and especially… getting to know Susan (a fellow Georgian) whose charm and passion for her job is apparent for all who are privileged to stay at Gusto del Paese!”

Thanks again for your hospitality, graciousness, and time spent with you in your amazing villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See above
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsinnclar...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was perfetto!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our extended family of 6 adults spent a week at Fondo Le Teglie and it was like being in heaven on earth. The house, pool and grounds were clean, well maintained and every detail for our comfort had been thought of - robes and flip flops for the pool, a welcome basket with wine and goodies, fresh vegetables from the garden, and lilies and white rose arrangements in every room. The views are spectacular.
Owner Susan has extensive knowledge of the entire region, including guides you can contact, spa services, tours, and a notebook of details about area restaurants and attractions. On Susan's suggestion, we had Senora Dina come cook for us one night and that was a fun evening of delicious food.
We spent our week enjoying mornings and evenings at the villa and adventuring out to the many interesting nearby towns during the day. It really was one of the best weeks our family has ever spent anywhere, and we love to travel.
La Famiglia Clark ("Americans from America, as we were called a time or 2) HIGHLY recommend Fondo Le Teglie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything about the villa and the surrounding area.
Liked least: The evening we ran out of good grappa.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that the property was exactly as described, no unpleasant surprises upon arrival
Liked least: nothing to report, my expectations were met or exceeded
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing