We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spotlessly Clean”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Family House

Family House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family House
Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Family House
Garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilphedar, South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Daydream7...
2 reviews
“Spotlessly Clean”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Perfect size for two friends. Bedrooms are a bit small, a small chair to drape clothes over would have been welcome.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2018
Thank for your review and your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
2 reviews
“Perfect Island Cottage”
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful, clean and fresh island cottage with sheep for neighbours. Absolutely recommend it and only wish we could've stayed longer to appreciate all the natural beauty of South Uist.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thank you for your kind review. Let’s hope you can stay longer next time & thank you for the goodies you left behind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon S
1 review
“Lovely cottage in walking distance from the beach”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely cottage in walking distance from the beach. Everything that we needed for a comfortable stay was provided and there was an off-road car parking space (use of a car is recommended). The Coop at Daliburgh was fine for our fresh food supplies. We used the cottage as a base for exploring and did some trout fishing in South Uist - permits from Stòras Uibhist in Daliburgh. The cottage was ideal for the two of us and we had a nice relaxing holiday. We often heard the calls of the corncrake in the field across the road from the cottage, but we never did see it.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Gordon, thank you for your kind review. We hope you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
1 review
“Perfect stay for peace and quiet.”
Reviewed May 25, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful stay never having been on the island before. Accommodation was lovely and plenty of room for 2 people might have been a bit tight for 4 especially for a week as we had. Would recommend this place to anyone Good place for wildlife also and for touring out of.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable and Private”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful short stay in the family house. It had all of the amenities we required and exceptional skies at night.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you for your review, we hope you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen A...
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is well equipped and well cared for but needs to be clearly advertised as catering for 2 couples rather than for 4 people. Even 2 couples would be a tight fit in the very cramped and sparse sitting room.

The kitchen / dining room is well equipped with everything you would hope for but the design is strange and the cooker in the corner just does not work for a left handed chef.

It all worked for a business trip, and we enjoyed the walks on the beach, but could be so much cosier.

Loved our visit to the Hebrides but disappointed with accommodation

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry we didn't meet your needs and we will take your comments on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing