We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice trip on a rare type of transportation.”

Arkansas & Missouri Railroad
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
SOUTH WEST CITY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice trip on a rare type of transportation.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having not ridden an actual train since I was about 12, this was really neat and we rode in a coach that was built in 1927. Very comfortable. It was really cool to watch the scenery - like my husband said, "we saw what everyone had in their backyards and behind their barns" :) A different view of a trip we had made several times before in the car. Went across 3 large (and high) trestles and thru a 1700 ft long tunnel which was dug in 1882. We rode coach and the view was fine and I don't think first class (for the price difference) was much better. You get to spend about 3 hours in Van Buren. Not as much shopping there as it sounded like in the brochure, but you can spend 3 hours looking and having lunch. I would definitely recommend this interesting one day trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank splitlog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    58
    14
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a lovely day out.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a lovely day out. Good fun for the whole family. We are from SA/UK and have lived in Arkansas for just over 14 months, so we are constantly looking for fun and different things to do. This was one of them. We chose to go First Class and sit in the Dome and it was worth every penny. Larry and Shirley who were our Conductors for the day where just lovely and were an added bonus to our day out. Going through the mountains was extraordinary, the tree's were just changing and it was beautiful. Not going to lie... Van Buren is a VERY small town, i think if you blink you will miss it. Finding things to do for the 3 1/2 or so hours that you are there is a little taxing, but its still quaint and everyone is very friendly. Fully recommend this as a day out. Leave at 8am and back at around 4pm. Just enough time together as a family in a confined space where you are wanting to kill each other. Scenery is spectacular and just being a train like this is really romantic, a very different train from the commute i sometimes did to work in not so sunny Leeds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank realtraceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great trip in fall but pretty expensive”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It is a very enjoyable trip over the mountian but the cost is awefully high. Great one day get away.

Helpful?
1 Thank nstokes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, AR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Took grandchild on train and they enjoyed it though it isn't very scenic. For one who has never been on a train ride, it is a nice treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank jaboodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Train Ride Through The Mountains”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Yesterday we went on a train ride on the old refurbished train from Springdale Arkansas to Van Buren Arkansas and back. We decided to upgrade to first class and am glad we did as first class offered some interesting extras for only $10 more. It was a blazing hot day well over 100 degrees.
The train cars are all air conditioned. The couch car has padded bench seats and the first class car has tables and leather padded chairs. There are several conductors who walk about telling funny stories and pointing out places of interest on the ride down. They also supply non-alcohol beverages and snacks. When the train went over the trestle bridges the first class passengers were invited out onto the back platform of the train to stand in the open and enjoy the view. The conductor told us that the best shot from the platform for at the very end when we passed off a trestle. We were ready and as the train turned the corner we could see the trestle itself. My poor old camera hesitated and I missed the shot.
We went through the Boston Mountains, through a tunnel, Past wild deer, grazing cattle and children on farms waving at the train passengers. I felt like we were royalty and should be throwing coins to the children.
When we pulled into Van Buren the first thing I saw was the lovely plantings around the preserved old station. The town is also preserved in it's wonderful old Victorian form. Lots of gingerbread on the building edges
We dined at Sisters Restaurant and were very happy with our meal and the wine selections.
Ice Cream at a small shop just down the hill from sisters. Many antique shops, a yarn shop with a proprietress who was happy to share her gluten free cooking tips with us, a western clothing shop that carried all reproduction period clothing for the mid 1800's to the mid 1900's. The shop keeper there was a tall slender man in full bad guy gear.
I guess in short all the shop keepers were very happy to see us and chat with us. I went home with two new tea cups from a Mexican import shop and a pound and a half of home-made fudge. She was a very good sales person. I had only wanted one small piece.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dorotxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas & Missouri Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas & Missouri Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing