We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre accommodations with SPECTACULAR restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Room had a cold tile floor, cheap susurban looking slider door to ouside and average bathroom fixtures. Hall dark and somewhat malodorous. Bought this one night stopover reservation for part of a Normandy vacation as a groupon.
Long drive got us there way later than expected so we were hungry with no dinner reservation. Although restaurant was packed they put together a table for 4 in an alcove. ( I think they pulled table and chairs from breakfast room to do it) The attention and service given to us were second to none. We were instantly served small bites and olives with wine while we chose from the menu. Mushroom soup in a crock with a puff pastry crust was ethereal and the lobster stew was the best seafood I have ever tasted. As the only wine drinker at the table I order by the glass or demi, and was recommended a wine cheaper than my original choice that was superb complement to my fish. We were offered Calvados complements of the chef and our teens happily accepted extra creme brulee in addition to the desserts we ordered. This restaurant is worth a detail but is fairly close to Honfleur. Shocked by bad reviews of others

Room Tip: May be brighter upstairs without the long dank hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here one night on way to holiday villa. Room adequate but very small and no more than three-star accommodation - certainly not worth €160. Dinner in the restaurant was very disappointing. Service was extremely slow and disorganised. Food of mediocre quality and grossly over-priced. My wife found thumbnail sized piece of bone in minced oxtail and potato side dish that came with so-called 'fillet' steak - in reality cheap frying steak, fish soup served lukewarm, tasteless langoustine ravioli, foie gras cooked in cheap oil, etc etc. Altogether very disappointing - strong 'avoid' recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had been, very kindly given a “Wonderbox coups de coer Michelin” meal for two. We made a reservation at the renowned Le Petit Coq aux Champs for Saturday 12th May 2012. Unfortunately we were totally disappointed.

We arrived 40 minutes prior to our booking allowing time so that we could enjoy an aperitif in their famously beautiful gardens on what was a beautifully sun early evening , we were told NO to the aperitif in the garden and shown straight to our table. We ordered aperitifs “suggested” by our waiter but not allowed to enjoy them as our “SET MENU” was served almost immediately. The menu was read to us no choices were offered the first course of foie gras was almost raw and swimming in cheap oil NO TASTE , the fish course was overcooked and the sauce a travesty of all that the word offers tasteless.

The veal was good!! The cheese course only confirmed that we were 2nd class clients we were presented with a breakfast bowl of lettuce with a small spoonful some sort of soft cheese, while the table next to us had a choice of 15- 20 cheeses all with an accompanying explanation, the desert consisted of a medley of sweets and a chocolate rock cake!!.

We spent £500.00 travelling to France especially for this meal with ferry and accommodation costs not to mention the 66.00 Euros spent on a taxi to and from the restaurant.

The Michelin organisation should re-visit this establishment on a “Wonderbox Gift Voucher we think Raymond Blanc would laugh once he was over the shock of such a terribly establishment, we’re not quite laughing yet.

To sum this establishment up in one word “TERRIBLE.”

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alpal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I've never written a review before but enjoyed this hotel so very much that I feel compelled to tell people about it. The owners, Jean Marie and his wife, are incredibly welcoming and seem to be involved in every aspect of this hotel/restaurant. They made sure each person in our party was completely satisfied with their rooms, each charming and traditionally decorated. When we went for dinner, the food was stunning. Jean Marie is also the head chef and treated us to a veritable feast of local flavours, apple, camembert, scallops (cooked simply by placing the scallop on a heated stone, so the heat from the stone cooks the scallop!) and more.
The location is incredibly peaceful and the thatched roof building makes you feel like you are truly experiencing the traditional Norman countryside. Highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a touch of tradition with delicious food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmedbynormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel is appropriately named: Surrounded by verdant meadows and fields, it is tucked away at the end of a country road. The thatched Norman houses that make up the hotel and restaurant complex seem from another era altogether. Inside, though, the hotel is modern and the rooms recently refurbished. We enjoyed the peace and quiet while lounging at the good-sized pool. Food at the restaurant was excellent and the creme brulee the best we have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angkor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I went there for lunch with family and friends and we were terribly disappointed. This place is hell. After sitting one hour, close to neighbours in a room with no soul, we had finished our first bottle of wine without seeing any other food but cheap butter and pistachio...
After the delay, the worst was to come with our meal. A real disgrace. Nothing was worth a quarter of the price we had to pay. Food had no taste, was dry and we were still hungry after lunch. And needless to say, the service is worst than in a parisian café.
Avoid this place. There are good and honest restaurants around.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rudyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent a very pleasant night in this small and attractive hotel with large restaurants, bars and sun lounges which look out on a well kept garden. We enjoyed the degustation menu which was competently cooked and served. The patronne was very charming and, when I rang to ask if I had mislaid an earring in the hotel, made great efforts to look for it, even taking the vacuum bag to pieces. She eventually rang and emailed me several days later to say that it had been found.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campigny
16.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
566 reviews
16.2 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
21.6 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
556 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belle Isle sur Risle
Belle Isle sur Risle
#1 of 2 in Pont-Audemer
587 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Coq aux Champs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Coq aux Champs

Address: 400 Chemin du Petit Coq, 27500 Campigny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Campigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Price Range: $153 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Coq aux Champs 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Pont Audemer in Haute Normandie, the good life in normandie is not a myth. The Petit Coq aux Champs is nestled in the heart of the countryside between Deauville, Honfleur and Etretat. Let us share with you our vision of a relaxing stay in our privileged natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Le Petit Coq aux Champs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing