We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, excellent wine & even better food!”
Review of Aux Delices

Aux Delices
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a small bistro, real ale and wine bar offering the freshest food cooked with care and consistency. Our style is uncomplicated and the ingredients recognizable. We have an extensive wine list and a range of hand pulled ales and draught imported lagers. Join us just for a drink or evening meal.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent wine & even better food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently held our "mini wedding reception" here after getting married abroad. We wanted a low-key, intimate meal for our nearest & dearest and this seemed like the perfect place, and we weren't wrong. From booking the table, the communication between ourselves & Carole (the owner) was flawless. Every detail had been thought of by Carole, so we didn't have to. She gave us advice with timings, place settings, wine, drinks, food, table decorations, she was extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The menu was spot on too, we were able to pick from a large seasonal menu - which we could make changes to if we didn't like a particular sauce with the chicken for example- we then shrunk down into 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 puds, which our 19 guests then chose from. They even made rice pudding by special request for my husband as it's his favourite - honestly, nothing is too much trouble.

On the night, we had a fantastic time.. The food came out at bang on 8.00pm as we'd arranged and from that moment the night flowed and before I knew it, it was midnight! Every single one of our guests commented on how nice the food was and there were empty plates all round! The freshness and quality of the food is second to none.

I genuinely couldn't have asked for a better night for our wedding celebrations, it was just what we were after. Carole & Phil went the extra mile to make sure it was and we are so grateful.

Thank you very much and see you soon! x

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDuck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    30
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although I reviewed Aux Delices last year, as I was so pleased to have found this wonderful, little restaurant, I have been back on several occasions. As restaurants can change over time, I thought I should write an update. Each time I have had a really good meal, chosen from a varied and changing menu. All is freshly cooked to order. I mentioned before that a friend of mine cannot eat gluten, and there is a really wide choice here for such people, clearly marked on the menu. Served in comfortable and friendly surroundings, it is a restaurant you should try, but book, as tables are limited, and it is very popular.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really excellent meal. Not an extensive menu, but cooked to perfection, and if you have the two course "early bird" menu outstanding value for money. Even at the normal prices it's well worth the price. The place doesn't look much from the outside but it's very nice inside, the staff are friendly and welcoming and attentive without being obtrusive. If I could, I would have given it 6 stars!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem in Mytholmroyd”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Friday evening in Mytholmroyd may offer many cultural choices. It is after all the birthplace of Ted Hughes. However when it comes to food there is but one choice but what a choice!

We have eaten at a number of Michelin starred restaurants and seriously believe that a number of the dishes here, the king scallops for example, are as good as any that we have spent a whole lot more for in such acclaimed establishments.

It is the best for miles around, excellent value for money and it is also consistent. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DEC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“first time but definately not the last”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Proper potted beef & egg & smoked haddock were two wonderful starter. Could the next course be as good? Superb shoulder of lamb in a really rich gravy, Dauphinoise potatoes & assorted vegetables, fresh & cooked with a lovely crunch left in them. Intended having a sweet course but no room left. Good coffee. Simple food cooked to perfection. A first class meal in lovely surroundings & excellent value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ymgandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Delices also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Cragg Vale, Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Aux Delices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing