We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 San Isidro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here the last few nights. A friend booked so I turned up not knowing anything and was lovely. The owners Tom and Liz are down to earth, friendly and straight forward and this is reflected in the value for money, the accommodation, the food and the service. We hired local guide Raul for a trip to waterfalls and hiking and had a great time, meeting the whole family, having fresh buko (coconut) post him shimmying up a few trees, and hired surfboards for very reasonable price. Having been around the Philippines this is by far and away best value for money. Lobster was 200 pesos done with a wonderful chilli, garlic and ginger marinade. Tom will collect from airport and even the ferry (if like us you have to divert and take a more circuitous route to the island) and if you're lucky will through in a free doughnut! Over the road is a brand new coffee shop with locally processed cacao for hot chocolate which is delicious and best banana pancakes I've had on the SEAsia tour. Its a quieter spot away from the surfers hangout spots of GL but means you get some quiet time, a great beach and see a bit more of the local culture. I thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Becsinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was a good experience to had our holiday in bamboo garden beach resort in siargao. The owner and the staff were very nice. You can ask the owner to tour you around siargao island. The beach was fantastic.

Room Tip: All their rooms were good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We (a couple) stayed 9 nights at Bamboo Garden in the "love shack" without regretting anything. We had a very pleasant stay where we could not only unwind lying on the "chill out" loungers, but also have a great starting point to explore the island. From Pacifico you have a good starting point to explore e.g. the South of Siargao on one/ two days and then the North on the another day. You can also take more time, depends how often you want to stop.To rent a Motorbike/ Scooter was a great opportunity and there a some nice places (beaches, rock pools, caves, etc.) to explore. And we can just recommend to get in touch with the local people in the region. They are adorable and the children just love to speak to you and might even teach you to sing some songs! If you have any questions just ask Tom & Liz. They help you with anything. From treating small wounds or telling you were to go & what to see. They are not just the owner but are also your friends where you can have a really fun time sharing different travel & life experiences. We were also lucky to have a great BBQ on Toms birthday, it was really delicious! Also not to forget the great "killer pool" sessions with the others (Raphael, Martin, Steffen). There is a "liquid price" to win ;)
As we didn't really travel in the "on-season" for surfing, there were, although the forecast was really poor, still some reasonable waves to surf. You also don't have a crowd there and can have some chilled sessions there. We didn't bring our own boards as we are also travelling through the Philippines and this makes it quite unhandy. The rental is uncomplicated, we could just rent one or two boards that Tom & Liz have whenever we needed it. Just ask if they fit your size/level. They also have good connections to broaden the board range in order to assure that u can have a suitable board. Thanks to Raul also for borrowing that really nice and playful funshape :)

Room Tip: The love shack has a good view onto the ocean. So if your looking at the surf in the morning to get...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heiko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everything was great at Bamboo garden , nothing to complain about , ask for it and you get it ,
Tom and Liz were great and always ready to help with what ever you ask for , had a great and relaxing time , we surly will be back , Thank You Rap Rap for the coconuts and everything ,
Thank You liz for the great food , you are surely a good cook ,Thank You Tom for helping me out from the start ,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

we (2 couples & 1 single) stayed an extended weekend and took over all 3 huts. they even gave us the family room for a discounted price due to single occupancy. whatever our plans were liz & tom were always very keen on helping us out. they organized motorbikes and surf teachers for us and also tried to organize a jungle tour with a local guide, which was the only thing we were not satisfied with during our stay (even though it was not their fault, tom and liz apologized for the less than ok tour). they supplied us with a map and many tips to explore the area on our own. the coconuts as welcome drinks were a nice touch and also their 3 lovely dogs were a big plus. in conclusion bamboo garden offered exactly what we wanted: no hustle and bustle at a beautiful beach with friendly people at really affordable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank solonaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really had a very good time at Bamboo Garden, wish we had more time to stay. Great cook, Liez, regards from my husband Arvid he really enjoyed your Chilli con carne. :) and Tom's sunday dinner. Thanks Liez for cooking our shrimps and crabs, we really enjoyed it. It's been years since I slept under the kulambo (mosquito net), it brought lots of memories when I was little. The sound of the waves, cool breeze at night, clean morning air, good breakfast and drinking coconut juice from a young green coconut everyday was the best of everything. Thanks Liez and Tom, regards to Carmie, Dodong and Raprap too. God Bless!!! We'll be back next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rosecb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at Bamboo garden with my wife and son for few days. The place is amazing. I got pretty nice waves by myself, right in front of my room. Tom and Liz are very nice people and they made us feel at home. The food is the best you can find in Siargao (especially the chilli con carne). We will be back some day. Thank you very much, Tom and Liz. Whenever you coming to Brazil, let me know ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toyberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro
10.9 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
125 reviews
12.2 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sailfishbay Surf and Big Game Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
White Sands Paradise Beach Resort
White Sands Paradise Beach Resor...
#14 of 41 in Siargao Island
43 reviews
11.7 mi away
Viento Del Mar
Viento Del Mar
#4 of 14 in General Luna
50 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Resort
Bravo Beach Resort
#1 of 23 in General Luna
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Garden Bar and Lodging

Address: | Pacifico, San Isidro, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island > San Isidro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Garden is located in Pacifico, just North of San Isidro on Siargao Island. The Island is a magnet for surfers in search of waves, with many world class breaks available. Don't despair though if surfing isn't your thing; Siargao Island is also the perfect place for a relaxing getaway, offering many other activities and sights. We offer idyllic, affordable beach front cottages that overlook a white sand beach with views across the Pacific Ocean. These can sleep 2 - 6 persons. Just a few meters away from the white sands bordering the Pacific Ocean we have an Al Fresco Bar/Restaurant where you can enjoy our varied menu catering for both Western and local tastes. Dishes include tasty home made pizzas, juicy 100% beef burgers and paninis made with every day fresh home baked bread. You can wash it all day with an ice cold beer, while taking in the amazing views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo Garden Bar And Lodging Siargao Island, Philippines - San Isidro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing