We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penguin Day Off”
Review of Asahiyama Zoo

Asahiyama Zoo
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Asahikawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Penguin Day Off”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

wanted to see the Penguin walk but ti was canceled! Too little snow and didn't want the little guys hurting their feets. The rest of the exhibits is quite good though the enclosures is a bit small.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    805
    140
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely zoo to visit in sakura season”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I come from Singapore, where the zoo's supposed to be good, but visiting the Asahiyama zoo was really an experience for me. The zoo was built on a little hill. It was spring time and cherry blossoms were blooming all over the zoo so it was absolutely magical. We travelled by JR and took a bus from the station. I realise I'm not good at writing reviews, but all in all, I remember enjoying the experience. The zoo wasn't big but the animals were lovely. The fee wasn't too expensive either. Food there was reasonably priced. So for me, it was a good decision to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Germainetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Natural & Nice”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The zoo is not very big so you can tour comfortably within 1 day. I like that they try to create an environment where we can see most of the animals up-close. As it's summer when we were there so did not catch the penguin march but we did witness the feeding session. There are specific bus arriving time so it's best to check out the timing especially return trip back to Asahikawa town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a17a1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“You can get really close”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have many wonderful things to say about this place. The zoo is not very big, making it a good place for a quick stop. They animals look healthy and happy (also fat), and the zoo is very clean (as far as zoo goes). Entrance fee is not expensive for a place where you can see leopard seals, red panda, polar bear and emperor penguins in one place and at very close distance, too! The penguin parade is very enjoyable. However, try to enter through the main gates and not the east gates as the gates close early.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“No bus from east gate to main gate”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I arrived the zoo at east gate with luggage by choyotei's free shuttle bus,planned to store the luggage there and take it back after visit the zoo, but the staff said the east gate will closed at 4 so we should put the luggage at main gate. However, the shuttle bus runs between east and main gate is not available, I have to bring my suitcase and walk from east gate to main gate to lock my luggage.

The zoo is not a huge one but it won't let you down, peguine, polar bear, tiger, squirrel, seal... And I visited there during snow festival week in Asahikawa, the zoo extended their opening hours to 19:30 and they light up the zoo with candle lights in ice cube, it was so amazing.

The penguin parade is the main attraction and all visitors queued at the side to let the penguins walked through.

There were only one restaurant in the zoo so it was crowded and seats were not enough.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahiyama Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Asahiyama Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing