We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the penguin parade”
Review of Asahiyama Zoo

Asahiyama Zoo
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Asahikawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the penguin parade”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The penguin parade is one of the rare chances you get so close to those adorable creatures. The zoo had a great layout and was easy to navigate. Had a great and enjoyable afternoon!

Helpful?
Thank Melissa-G87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    831
    141
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Loved the penguin parade. Those guys are really funny and we can never get tired of watching them. The polar bears are very active and cute too. The zoo is a bit out of the way, about 40 minutes bus ride from Asahikawa station, but it's worth it. Definitely will come again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome zoo”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I simply love this place. The snowscape was really stunningly beautiful and I still have flashbacks how moving it was many years since my visit. I really went only to see the adorable emperor penguin walk and the parade was indeed heart stopping. Just wished the penguin Marshall (who appears in the trip magazines) was less rude. It's a must-see for hakkaido in the Winter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtvegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day at the zoo”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of friends are staying in Asahikawa and as we had a rental car we decided to give the Zoo a visit. The Zoo was a good place to spend the day and the penguin march was definitely worth seeing.

All in all it was good day spent at the Zoo and would recommend to anyone else staying in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place at Asahiyama Zoo”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent a day trip to Asahiyama Zoo, which is a very lovely place, especially for kids. Even the weather was very cold there, we enjoyed the visit to many different kinds of creatures at the zoo. There are penguin, gariff, hippo, polar bear, and many others. Penguin Walking Show was very attractive there in the morning times, and we took a lot of pictures there. And we also had our meal in the hill top restaurant and you can enjoy the scenic view at Asahiyama and nearby places.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TCML-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahiyama Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Asahiyama Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing