We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lobby was designed by Thomas Edisons grandson....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Asahikawa Grand Hotel
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Lobby was designed by Thomas Edisons grandson....”
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Yes, the Asahikawa Grand Hotel. Comfortable and well sited, reasonable but tasty food (non-Japanese is what I sampled) and a friendly & helpful stay. Recommended!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeffYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    273
    64
    13
    4
See reviews for
216
91
71
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you have to take a flight from Asahikawa Airport, then this hotel is very convenient. The airport bus stop is just outside the hotel. This is important because its the 1st stop on the way to the airport, you are bound to get a place esp with all the luggage. We had to place our cabin size bags in the bus and realised that if we had taken the bus from the 3rd stop (near the JR train station), there was no way we could find any seats because the queue at that 3rd bus stop was long. (the 2nd stop is in front of Loisir hotel).

Note that this airport bus is different from the Lavender Go Bus as it is timed with the flights leaving asahikawa airport. Yen600 one way. You can get the schedule from the hotel front desk.

Service at the hotel was friendly and efficient. We were able to check in by 1pm. We liked the ambience and location. The non smoking single rooms we had were on the 8th level and well maintained. A little small but comfortable enough. We opted for breakfast at the 17th floor western restaurant and also at the Japanese restaurant. Had one dinner at the coffee house. All the dining outlets are quite cozy and it was fairly quiet.

If you want a cheaper stay and make do with a simple breakfast, then there is a little gift shop on the ground floor that also has fresh bread and some wrapped sandwiches which are available by 9am (best to check with them). Alternatively, there's the hotdog chain "Doutor" and McD on the shopping street towards the JR train station. About 10mins walk.

With our luggages, we took taxi from the train station - its about Y490 or 590 and very convenient. Other times when we were handsfree, it was a 15min walk to the station. We preferred to walk on the shopping street rather than the main street which the taxi took. (its 1 street parallel to the main road which the taxi took) as there's less traffic.

We based ourselves in Asahikawa for 4 nights before proceeding to Furano Natulux.

Just 1 way + all the local train trips would have added to Y8000 without the pass. So the Y5400 4day JR Furano Biei Pass was definitely worth it. We used it for:
One way by Limited Express from Sapporo to Asahikawa.
Several local train rides from Asahikawa to Biei to take the Twinkle Bus tours.
One local train ride from Asahikawa to Furano station.

We bought the pass at the JR Information Centre at Sapporo station.

When planning the trip, I was very enthusiastic about walking to the flower fields in Biei. But that was out of the question when we arrived in Biei and saw how narrow the roads to the flower fields were. There's no proper walking path and when the vehicles pass by, it can be quite dangerous. Forget about cycling too because there are no signs to really direct those who dont read english. Under the hot blazing sun or on a rainy day, its going to be very difficult. So we had no choice but to take the Twinkle Bus tours (thankfully free with our JR ticket). If you are short on time, I recommend the twinkle bus Takushinkan+Hills of Shikisai tour rather than the Hill Course or Lavender Course. The Shikisai flower field is quite big and the Takushinkan photo gallery has lots of very very good pictures of the Furano Biei area.

I did a review on Natulux Furano as well. Hopefully you can get some tips from that review when its posted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the Asahikawa Grand Hotel for 2 nights this winter and were impressed with the hotel's warm customer service. Reception staff gave detailed directions (in English) on how to get to Asahiyama Zoo and Asahikawa Winter Festival sites at Tokiwa Park. She also arranged for a free bus trip (round-trip) to Sounkyo Ice Fall Festival, with pick up just across the road in front of the hotel.

During breakfast, service staff were earnest, attentive and prompt in their service. Overall we were delighted, and feels at home during our stay.

The hotel is within walking distance to Winter Festival sites, main shopping street, bus stop to the Zoo and JR.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monet_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Our travel agent, JTB booked this hotel and we thought it would be an average run of the mill tourist hotel, but when entering the lobby we realized it was something special. The lobby is beautiful and full of lovely flower arrangements. The staff speaks perfect english and we had no miscommunications during our stay. They gave us very detailed directions on how to catch the bus for the Asahiyama zoo and the Otokoyama sake brewery. The hotel is a block away from the main shopping street, which is full of good restaurants and shopping malls. The JR train station is about a 20 minute walk. We took a taxi from the station to our hotel (500Yen) and then back to the station (550Yen). If you have breakfast included, you can eat at either have the western breakfast at Champ D'or (top floor -great views) or at the Japanese restaurant, Shiki. We had dinner at Shiki one of the nights during our stay and it was great. We traveled with our one year old son and we used their wooden baby cot. They even gave him his own set of towels, which i know doesn't sound like much, but after many hotels, this is the first that did this for him. They even brought him child room sandals. The hotel room faced the main street. We were on the 16th floor and the room was very quiet. On the first floor there is a nice gift shop that sells newspapers, pastries and hokkaido ice cream.

  • Liked — location, quality of the room and hotel, nice restaurants
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This is a very good hotel. Short check-in queues, breakfast starts early,big rooms,lots of toothbrushes etc. provided. Good location. An extremely pleasing hotel to me overall.

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZushGuyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

A real "find" for our ski trip to japan (Jan 07) was the Asahikawa Grand Hotel. It is a high quality hotel with comfortable well appointed rooms and good views. Whilst it has several restaurants, we tended to eat out, if only to explore the range of excellent Japanese restaurants nearby. We can however highly recommend the inclusion of breakfast, which is served to order and is in a quite decadent setting for first thing in the morning. We only speak English and had no trouble communicating with staff, though their on-line booking system is only available in Japanese and therefore you'll need to book via a commercial on-line hotel booking website - it's worth it. The nearby Asahiyama Zoo is worth a visit too, especially when the Emporer Penguins are taken out for a walk. As a gateway to Furano, visiting Asahikawa and the Asahikawa Grand Hotel is well worth considering.

Helpful?
2 Thank Parkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asahikawa hotels
Asahikawa Station
JR Inn Asahikawa
JR Inn Asahikawa
#1 of 40 in Asahikawa
353 reviews
Hotel Dormy Inn Asahikawa
#3 of 40 in Asahikawa
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asahikawa Station
ART HOTEL Asahikawa
ART HOTEL Asahikawa
#10 of 40 in Asahikawa
352 reviews
Hotel WBF Grande Asahikawa
#5 of 40 in Asahikawa
79 reviews
Court Hotel Asahikawa
#8 of 40 in Asahikawa
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asahikawa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asahikawa Grand Hotel

Property: Asahikawa Grand Hotel
Address: 9, 6-Jodori, Asahikawa 070-0036, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Asahikawa > Asahikawa Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Asahikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asahikawa Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asahikawa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing