We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
17
20
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
20
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews men and women lounge area shabu shabu private onsen in addition one night japanese style front desk receptionist buffet english dinner views bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

We visit this hotel 10 days ago in the midst of a typhoon. However we were impressed by the warm welcome by the receptionist who tried hard to make us understand his English. The hotel has a good view of the famous matsushima bay. The lounge provides free coffee and dessert at all times. The rooms are spacious by Japanese standard. They have private baths which can be booked free of charge in addition to the usual public bath. The dinner provides a shabu shabu with wagui and oysters. There are also a good spread of buffet with shahimi and ice cream. At 2000yen per pax it is very good value. We were quite grateful to stay here despite the fact that the JR trains and bus were out of service.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kai sang alexan... w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

This place is well maintained and although it is a bit big, it has charm and is set up like a traditional ryoken (shoes off in lobby, pajamas provided, onsen). The staff are friendly, and enough English is spoken to get you through. We had requested a non smoking room, but that bit didn't get through. Fortunately the windows were able to be opened to air it out.

Try and get a room that faces the bay. We were on the opposite, with a view of a cherry tree (albeit nice, and in bloom), and the car park.

The breakfast is definitely recommended. Large selection of Japanese and Western choices. Dinner is also buffet, although we didn't try it. There are other nice touches, like complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge area, which also has some massage chairs and a fireplace to sit in front of in winter.

It is also very child friendly, with a large playroom next to the lounge, and a play room on the lower level where they had ping pong tables, and a small play area for toddlers.

The onsen is great, and we really enjoyed the private onsen, where couples can bathe together. You need to book your 45 minute slot, on the sign up sheet outside of the onsen. There are also two other public onsens, which have views.

It is a 10 minute walk up a hill from the Matsushimakaigan station. Turn right after exiting the station. Cross at the lights and head up the hill. Second left, which crosses above some tracks, and follow the signs. There was a shuttle service, but getting back to the station is much easier, (downhill), so we didn't bother.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

This place is very nice. The room is large and the furnishings are dated and need some updating. The staff here tries but no one speaks any English, which I understand being the foreigner, but I think when you list your resort on multiple sites like Expedia and such then you are asking for outside business, as such I think the dront desk staff should know just a little bit of English. It would help a lot. The first guy we met went out of his way to try and help. He saw me using the translator app on my phone so he used one on his and this was a great help in figuring out what needed to be said. We asked about dinner and we were told it was buffet style so we said sure. Asked about price told 2000yen.

Now before people complain about this, know this, the menu at our dinner table was completely in English. Went to dinner and come to find out the English menu showed ShabuShabu or Hot pot dinners also for 52US per person. Listed in that was also the buffet. We thought the buffet was going to be 52US. So I asked our server with the limited Japanese we knew if all items listed, Shabu Shabu, buffet, and soup, yes soup was listed all together with the price underneath for 52 US was included in that price and he said no buffet only. I asked this because other people who had ShabuShabu and hot pot dinners were also going up to the buffet. So we got done and the check which was given at the begining of service had no price or total so we had to ask another server who had no clue, so he took us to the front desk. They had no clue until I asked how much the meal was in broken Japanese and told me the total was 5000yen for 2. (Left the phone in the room)

The only other thing in English was a small piece of paper explaining check in times, breakfast times, dvd movie service and rules on using the bath house that was all the English information we got.

Like I said I get it but, a little front desk help with language would be nice if you are asking for more foreigners to come to your resort. So be sure to know the languge or have some sort of translator to better communicate with the staff.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KonoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

It appears you need to be either paying a lot or to be very lucky to get a decent room at this hotel. Upon arrival, we are given a room at the very far end (southwestern end) with one small window that faced not even a mountain but an unappealing bush. The overall atmosphere of the room was nothing but a dump. Judging from comments given by other people on TripAdvisor, there are some nice rooms, but we ended up with a poor one.

Even though the hotel is located on a hill, only rooms with east side have some views of Matsushima. Our only occasion to see Matsushima from the hotel was from the restaurant (dinner and breakfast).

The hotel offers a large public bath rooms as well as a 45-minute family bath use without an extra charge. We were interested in it, we checked one of the family bath rooms, only to find out that it didn’t look clean enough and decided not to use it.

As for dinner, we requested a “shabushabu” dinner or Japanese-style hot pot. It was very good with generous portion of beef, pork, seafood and various vegetables. It was more than enough for two of us.

Since we booked our room directly with the hotel chain’s web site, upon check-out, we were given a JPY500 (less than US$5.00) coupon as the reward for doing so. But this coupon is almost useless as it is for a future use only at one of their hotels. The value is also meager for what the hotel is saving by getting a direct booking. We have experienced these days more hotels are giving more meaningful rewards for those who directly reserve their rooms directly with hotels.

We will not go back to this hotel or any of the hotels of this hotel chain.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The staff here have very little English but always exceptional service. Shuttle bus to take you down to the town which is a great bonus as the hotel is up on the hill with lovely views of the bay. Arriving at the train station, turn to the right as you exit the station and go to the information booth and they will ring the hotel to come and pick you up, otherwise it is short ride in a taxi. Large luxury appointed rooms, to communal men and women Onsen baths.... Men and women are separate times also big bonus 2 other private seperate baths which you can book easily so yourself or with your partner can soak privately. Western breakfast and dinner is amazing best food we have had in Japan. Highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank amadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews