We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful bread!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Catfish

Brown's Catfish
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Russellville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Homemade Rolls, cinnamon rolls, and hushpuppies! Delicious!!!!!! One of the top 2 catfish buffets I've ever eaten at. Very pricey though! The only food I wouldn't give stars for was the peel-n-eat shrimp - on the small size for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    35
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistent quality, flavor, and wide selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a really great casual dining experience that gives you fabulous taste treats with a super friendly wait staff this is the place to go. When ever we have friends visit Arkansas they always want the "best catfish around". Our answer is always Brown's. The offer everything: salads, gumbo, ribs, chicken, and catfish just about any way you want it cooked. Yummmmm!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good eatin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Once you get past the initial shock of the price tag that comes along with the food (I feel it's overpriced by a dollar or two, but not much) you will definitely enjoy the food. I've been twice this month and both times I was greeted by a friendly staff which seemed eager to please. The food was fresh and delicious. Ribs were EXELLENT again. The fried shrimp was delicious. Service was quick to fill up an emptying tea glass. Tables were spaced far enough apart as to not elbow your neighbor. Lighting was good.
The only downside I noticed was like I mentioned earlier, the price, and the ice cream machine was broken. (No vanalla but the chocolate side was still a go).
Despite the price, this us a place I'd go to agin in if I ever come back to the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoistandcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in the Arkansas River Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We live in 30 minutes away and love going to Brown's. It is a family owned Christian restaurant. They have the best catfish and fixings you can get. We also have them serve us hot shrimp rather than the cold ones on ice. The cinnamon rolls and bread pudding are to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartman, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We received gc for christmas there and even eating there for pretty much free I would not return. The food was just not good. I will stick with one of the other catfish places anyday. Not to mention how expensive it is

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellokittylover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Catfish also viewed

 

Been to Brown's Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing